LINKS TO RELATED SITES
Alinari Corporate Site
http://www.alinari.com/home.htm
Featuring the work of the Fratelli Alinari, this web site is the world's
most complete image archive with 3.5 million entries.
American Museum of Photography
http://www.photographymuseum.com
A suberb all-around site dedicated to photography.
Ancient Monuments Society
http://www.ancientmonumentssociety.org.uk/
A site for those interested in the historic conservation of countless building types in the United Kingdom.
Andrew Dickson White Collection, Cornell University, New York
http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/adw/adwhistory.htm
A finding aid of the collection supported by text. Artists include the
Fratelli Alinari, the Bisson Freres, Edouard-Denis-Baldus, Giacomi Brogi,
Wilhelm Hammerschmidt; the Neurdein Freres, Giorgio Sommer, and many
others.
California Museum of Photography, University of California Riverside
http://www.cmp.ucr.edu/
A superb all-around site dedicated to photography.
City Gallery
http://www.city-gallery.com/learning/
The history of popular and family photography.
Currier-McCombs Photographs Division of the William L. Clements Library,
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
http://www.clements.umich.edu/photographs.php
The history of photography.
Davidson Art Center, Wesleyan University, Middleton, Connecticut
http://www.wesleyan.edu/dac/coll/surv/phot/travel.html
A thorough listing of collection guides that highlight Victorian-era
travel. Images from Antonio Beato, the Bisson Freres, Felix Bonfils,
Francis Frith, Carlo Ponti, Giorgio Sommer, James Valentine, George
Washington Wilson, and countless others.
Francis Frith Collection
http://www.francisfrith.com
A 56,000 image archive from the famous publisher.
George Eastman House
http://www.eastman.org
A superb history of photography.
The Georgian Group
http://www.heritage.co.uk/georgian/
A site dedicated to the preservation of Georgian buildings.
International Directory of Photography Historians
http://people.rit.edu/andpph/hpg.html
A thorough list of photography historians.
Rick Steves' Europe Through the Back Door
http://www.ricksteves.com
A thorough and informative site for those interested in traveling to
places less traveled.
Royal Photographic Society
http://www.rps.org
The history of photography.
Societe francaise de photographie
http://www.sfp.photographie.com/
A splendid site recalling the early history of French photography.
The Society of Architectural Historians
http://www.sah.org/
The premier site for subjects architectural.
Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings
http://www.spab.org.uk/
A site for those interested in the historic conservation of countless
building types in the United Kingdom.
The Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain
http://www.sahgb.org.uk/
A superb site for various architectural subjects and projects in the
United Kingdom.
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
http://www.unesco.org
A site dedicated to preserving the world's top architectural
treasures.
The Victorian Society
http://www.victorian-society.org.uk/
A site dedicated to the preservation of Victorian and Edwardian edifices.
World Monuments Fund
http://www.worldmonuments.org
A site dedicated to preserving the world's top architectural treasures.
This online exhibit "ARCHITECTONIC FIXATIONS: Photographs from the Collection of Russell Sturgis" was created in 2001, and is hosted by University Archives,
Department of Special Collections, Washington University Libraries. Please contact us with any questions.
| University Archives Home | Department of Special Collections Exhibits |
last update: Friday, March 23, 2012