AR'CHI-TEC-TON'IC
In the sense of art criticism this expression often
means
"having the massive stability and calm grandeuer of noble architecture."
INTRODUCING THE COLLECTION
This web site features approximately 320 digitally rendered images from a
collection of over 15,000 photographic prints held by the University
Archives of Washington University in St. Louis.
-
This collection was purchased in 1909 from the estate of Russell Sturgis
(1836-1909), a prominent American architect and a leading figure in the
both the promotion and refinement of architectural criticism at the turn
of the 20th century.
-
A well-versed world traveler, celebrated public speaker, and prolific
writer, Sturgis began collecting photographic prints in 1858 to
compliment his ever-growing library on architectural subjects.
-
By judiciously
selecting only the choicest works by the most praised photographers and
photographic editors of the time, Sturgis assembled perhaps the most
thoroughly exhaustive and first-rate collection of its kind in America.
-
Notable artists
found in the collection include: Leopoldo Alinari; Beato Antonio;
the Bisson Freres; Edouard-Denis Baldus; Felix Bonfils; Domenico Bresolin;
Carol and Giacoma Brogi; Howard Crosby Butler; Desire Charney; Charles
Clifford; Francis Frith; Max Junghandel; Moise Leon; Isaac Levy; Robert
Macpherson; Carlo Ponti; William H. Rau; Giorgio Sommer; William James
Stillman, Dudovico Tuminello, George Washington Wilson; and, others.
-
While the collection
largely focuses on European architectural details, topographical views,
sculpture, and painting, there are also images from cities and archaeological
sites in Asia, North Africa, the Middle East, and South America.
INTRODUCING THIS WEB SITE
This web site consists of five sections, namely:
- 315 select images in low resolution .jpg
format (50-80k).
-
5 select images in high resolution .jpg
format (250-500k).
-
An inventory of 56 images
that will be on exhibit in the Department of Special Collections in Olin
Library at Washington University in St. Louis from 25
May to 31 July 2001.
-
A list of links to related sites
-
Acknowledgements
-
To view a given image, click on the name of the text link that is of
interest.
-
One may wish to make note of the box number that accompanies the text
link, as this corresponds to the finding aid and serves to assist in the
retrieval of the actual photograph from the collection.
-
Should you wish to download images from this web site, kindly cite as
follows: Russell Sturgis Collection, Washington University Archives, St. Louis
Missouri.
-
Please remember that the nomenclature of cities, countries, general
geographic areas, and historical epochs reflects the thinking of the
early 20th century when the collection was acquired by the university.
In many instances, one may see a change of name (for example,
"Strasbourg, France" [since 1944] is found under, "Strassburg,
Germany" [1871-1919; 1940-44]).