WU LibrariesWU Libraries: Department of Special Collections
Search Special Collections Website

image1image2image3image4image5image6
Click to go to Archives home page University Archives navigation bar with links to home, finding aids, forms and procedures, and WU History Click to go to Archives home page Click to go to Archives finding aids Click to go to Archives forms and procedures Click to go to WU History

As of August 2013, University Archives has a new search interface. This cross-searches the collections of University Archives, plus those of the Modern Graphic History Library and Manuscript Unit.

Our finding aids are guides to locating material within the collections. Most of our finding aids are online, see below for links to search or browse finding aids by title or subject group. Please contact us if we can assist you in using our collections. The Archives staff can also help users locate archival materials held in collections other than those of Washington University.

Browse the most current University Archive (WUA) Finding Aids, by topic:

Browse or Search across University Archives, Modern Graphic History Library and Manuscript Unit finding aids

Advanced Search tips for more complex browsing of the new interface

**Please update your bookmarks and saved links.**

 

These links and PDF finding aids are being phased out and will not be available after December 31, 2013.

 

Browse All Finding-Aids (by title)

Finding-aids are in Portable Document Format (.pdf). Adobe Acrobat Reader is available for free from the Adobe web site.

Click on the links below to see finding aids beginning with the letter:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A
Alpha Kappa Psi Collection (Business fraternity)
Alpha Phi Records (Fraternity)
Alpha Phi Omega Collection (Service fraternity)
American Bridge Company Collection (St. Louis Eads Bridge Drawings)
American Civil Liberties Union of Eastern Missouri Records (Civic History)
Benjamin McAlester Anderson Papers (Economics)
Architectural Competition Information Files (Hilltop Campus, 1899)
Architectural Competition Information Files (Mudd and Eliot Hall, 1965)
Architectural Competition Information Files (Olin Library, 1956)
Architecture, School of, Records (Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts)
Harris Armstrong Collection (Architect)
Art, School of, Records (Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts)
ASTP (Army Specialized Training Program) Records
Athletic Department Records, Washington University (Sports)

B  Return to top
Joseph Badaracco Papers (President of St. Louis City Board of Alderman, 1972-75)
Harold Barnett Papers (Economics)
Harland Bartholomew and Associates Collection (Urban Planning)
Dan Bartlett Collection (World War I Officer)
J.W. Bennett Papers (Sociology)
William Bernoudy Collection (Architect)
Rowland Berthoff Papers (History)
Bi-State Development Agency Records (Transportation and University History)
Black Film Promotional Material Collection
Black Manifesto Collection (University History; Civil Rights)
Dan Bolef Papers (Physics)
William Glasgow Bowling (English and University Administrator)
Hudson E. Bridge Collection (University Administration)
James H. Bright Expenditure Records for Early Washington University Buildings
Robert S. Brookings Papers (University Administrator)
C.B. Broussard Papers (St. Louis Civic History)
Charles W. Bryan Papers (Transportation History)
Alexander Buchan Papers (English)
Building Information Files (Washington University)
Olin School of Business Records (Washington University)
Bug Magazine Records (Student Group Publication)
David Burbank Papers (Architecture)

C  Return to top
Morris Carnovsky Papers (Theater)
Fred Green Carpenter Papers (Art)
W.G.B. Carson Papers (English and Drama)
Center for the Biology of Natural Systems (Carcinogen Information Program Records)
Alfonso Cervantes Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, MO, 1965-1973)
William Nisbet Chambers Papers (Political Science and History)
Chi Sigma Phi Sorority Collection (Greek Life)
Civic Education Center
Arthur B. Cleaves Papers (Geology)
Committee for the Education of Women (CEW) Collection
Committee for Nuclear Information and Committee for Environmental Information Files
Arthur Holly Compton Papers (Physics)
James Conway Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, 1977-1981)
Charles E. Cory Papers (Philosophy)
Create Studio Records (School of Art)
Wayman Crow Genealogy Records (University Administrator)

D   Return to top
Danforth Campus Dedication Collection (Washington University in St. Louis)
Dean of Women and Dean of Students Office Records (Student Affairs / Greek Life / Campus Life)
Scott R. DeKins Papers (St. Louis Transportation History)
Delmo Housing Corporation Records (St. Louis Public Housing)
Charles Henry Dixon Papers (Manual Training School)
Robert G. Dixon, Jr. Papers (Law)
Gray Dorsey Papers (Law)

E  Return to top
Thomas H. Eliot Personal Papers (Chancellor)
William Greenleaf Eliot Personal Papers (University Administrator)
William Greenleaf Eliot, Jr. Papers (Smith Academy and Bachelor of Arts)
School of Engineering Photograph Collection
English Department Student Plays Collection

F  Return to top
Facilities Planning and Management Records (Washington University)
Eugene Feenberg Papers (Physics)
Hugh Ferriss Papers (Architecture)
First Year Center Orientation Collection (Washington University)
Norman Flagg Papers (Bachelor of Arts)

G  Return to top
Gallery of Art Records
Edna Gellhorn Collection (Political Activist)
Geography Department Papers
Dietrich Gerhard Papers (History)
Howard Gest Papers (Biology)
Gustav F. Goetsch Papers (Art)
Gustav F. Goetsch Collection (Art)
William Gordon and Margaret Schutz Gordon Papers (Social Work)
Graduate Institute of Economics and Government Records
Graham Chapel Bible
Graham Chapel Organ Recitals Information Files
Martha Graham Collection (Dancer)
Edward Greenberg Collection (Economics)
Betty Grossman Papers (Archaeology)

H  Return to top
Otto Heller Papers (Germanic Languages)
Henry Shaw School of Botany Records
Jules Henry Papers (Anthropology)
Mary C. Hester Papers (Social Work)
Jack H. Hexter Papers (History)
Herbert Hitzeman Papers (University Administrator)

K  Return to top
Aloys P. Kaufmann Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, 1943-1949)
George E. Kassabaum Papers (Washington University Board Member)
Shanti Khinduka Administrative Papers (Social Work)
Milton Kinsey Papers (Engineering and St. Louis Civic History)

L  Return to top
Alexander Langsdorf Papers (Engineering and University Administrator)
Alexander Langsdorf, Jr. Papers (Physics)
Language and Literature Club Collection
Legal Aid Society of the City and County of St. Louis Records
Library Bookmark Society Records
Logos, Seals, and Colors of Washington University Information Files (Historical Accounts)

M  Return to top
W. Roy Mackenzie Papers (English)
Daniel Mandelker Papers (Law)
Manual Training School Collection
Maritz and Young Papers (Architectural Renderings)
Mary Institute Records
4th National Conference on Men and Masculinity Records (Gender Studies)
Menís Glee Club Records (Campus life)
MetroLink -- See Bi-State Development Agency Records and Office of Public Affairs (Metrolink Records)
Monsanto Company Records (St. Louis-based Firm)
Stratford Lee Morton Papers (St. Louis Proposed World's Fair, 1953-54)

N  Return to top
1904 Olympics Collection
1904 St. Louis World's Fair Collection
Francis Nipher (Physics)
Fred Nolte Papers (Germanic Languages)

O  Return to top
Barack Obama Presidential Inaugural Memorabilia Collection
O'Fallon Polytechnic Institute Records
Office of Public Affairs (Assembly Series Lectures, 1949 to Present)
Office of Public Affairs (Metrolink Records) [Transportation]
Office of Public Affairs (Photos of Buildings on Campus)
Office of Public Affairs (Photos of Departments on Campus)
Office of Public Affairs (Photos of Events on Campus)
Office of Public Affairs (Photos of People Affiliated with the University)
Office of Public Affairs (Photos of Sporting Events on Campus)
John M. Olin Collection (St. Louis Philanthropist)
Olin School of Business Records (Washington University)
Omicron Delta Kappa Ė Alpha Kappa Circle Chapter Records

P  Return to top
Womenís Pan-Hellenic Records (Greek Life)
John Ira Parcel Papers (St. Louis Engineer)
Phi Beta Kappa Honorary Society Records
Philosophy Department Papers
Photos of Buildings on Campus (Office of Public Affairs)
Photos of Departments on Campus (Office of Public Affairs)
Photos of Engineering and Applied Sciences (School of Engineering)
Photos of Events on Campus (Office of Public Affairs)
Photos of People Affiliated with the University (Office of Public Affairs)
Photos of Sporting Events on Campus (Office of Public Affairs)
Vincent Piacentini Collection (Theatre Designer)
Buford L. Pickens Collection (Architecture)
David J. Pittman Papers (Sociology)
John H. Poelker Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, MO, 1973-1977)
Arthur W. Proetz Papers (School of Medicine and St. Louis Historian)
Publications (Admissions)
Publications (African and African-American Studies) -- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Alumni Association)
Publications (Alumni and Development Programs)
Publications (American Culture Studies Program)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Architecture)
Publications (Art and Archealogy)
Publications (Arts and Sciences [College of])
Publications (Arts and Sciences [Faculty of])
Publications (Athletic Department [All Sports])
Publications (Biology)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Botany)
Publications (Business, Olin School of)
Publications (Career Center)
Publications (Center for the Study of American Business)
Publications (Chemistry)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Compliance Office)
Publications (Commencement Programs)
Publications (Computing Facilities) -- See Information Services and Technology
Publications (Earth and Planetary Studies)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Economics)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Engineering)
Publications (Facilities)
Publications (Gephardt Institute for Public Service)
Publications (Germanic Languages and Literature)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Government and Community Relations)
Publications (Hatchet Yearbooks)
Publications (History Department)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Human Resources)
Publications (Information Services and Technology)
Publications (Law)
Publications (Medicine)
Publications (Music)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Network Coordinator) -- See Information Services and Technology
Publications (Office of Public Affairs [Feature Service])
Publications (Office of Public Affairs [General])
Publications (Office of Public Affairs [In the News])
Publications (Office of Public Affairs [News Releases])
Publications (Office of Public Affairs [Timely Topics])
Publications (Office of Undergraduate Research)
Publications (Parking and Transportation)
Publications (Performing Arts)
Publications (Philosophy)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Physics)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Police Department [Washington University])
Publications (Provost)
Publications (Psychology)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Registrar's Office)
Publications (Residential Life)
Publications (Romance Languages and Literature)-- See Arts and Sciences, College of
Publications (Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts)
Publications (Social Science Institute)
Publications (Social Work)
Publications (Stix International House)
Publications (Student Affairs)
Publications (by Student Groups)
Publications (Student Life)
Publications (Student Union)
Publications (Summer School)
Publications (University College)
Publications (Vice Chancellor for Research)
Publications (Washington University Magazine)
Publications (Washington University Press)
Publications (Washington University Record)
Publications (William Greenleaf Eliot Society)
Ralph and Muriel Pumphrey Papers (Social Work)

Q  Return to top
Quadrangle Club Records (Student Group)

R  Return to top
Bernard D. Reams, Jr. Papers (Law and Law Library)
Leroy Robbins Papers (World War I Officer)
Robert Robinson Papers (Art)
William Roever Papers (Math)
Harold Rosenthal Papers (Dentistry)
The Round Table Records (St. Louis history)
Richard Rudner Papers (Philosophy)

S  Return to top
St. Louis Biz Collection (Television Program)
St. Louis Car Company Collection (St. Louis-based Firm)
St. Louis East/West Gateway Coordinating Council Records
St. Louis Jefferson National Memorial Expansion Information Files (St. Louis Civic History)
St. Louis Mechanics Institute Records
St. Louis Social Science Association Records, 1877-81
St. Louis Union Station Collection (St. Louis Transportation History)
SCAN Collection (Civil Rights)
Schlafly Protest Collection (2008 Commencement)
School of Business Korea Project Records
School of Business Tunisian Project Records
School of Dental Medicine Records
School of Engineering Photograph Collection
School of Law Collection
Richard W. Seifert Photographic Collection (University History)
William Sentner Papers (Labor History)
Sigma Delta Tau Sorority Collection (Greek Life)
Sigma Nu Fraternity Collection (Greek Life)
Smith Academy Collection
Holmes Smith Papers (Art)
William Henry Smith Lectures Collection (University History)
Marshall Snow Correspondence Collection (University Administrator)
Social Work Administrative Records (George Warren Brown School of)
Social Work Kansas City Department Records (Department of GWB School of Social Work)
Herbert Spiegelberg Papers (Philosophy)
Herbert Spiegelberg Collection (Philosophy)
Sports Information Office Records (Athletics and Univeristy History)
George Stout Papers (English)
Student Affairs Office
Student Educational Service Department Records (University Administration)
Student Life Negatives
Student Union President Ben Zaricor Papers
Student Union Records
Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) Records (Civil Rights)
   SEE ALSO -- Additional description for the SDS Records
Russell Sturgis Photograph Collection (19th-Century European Photographic Prints of Architectural Subjects)

T  Return to top
Isaac S. Taylor Papers (1904 World's Fair)
Terminal Railroad Association Collection (St. Louis Eads Bridge Drawings)
Charles Allen Thomas Papers (University Administration)
Daniel Grey Thomas Papers (Student Manuscript and Civil Rights History)
Thyrsus Collection (Student Drama Organization)
Israel Treiman Papers (Law)
Raymond Tucker Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, MO, 1953-1965)
Raymond Tucker Personal Papers (Mayor of St. Louis, MO), 1953-1965)
Raymond Tucker Smoke Abatement Records (St. Louis History / Environmental)
2008 Commencement Schlafly Protest Collection

U  Return to top
Urban League of St. Louis Records (St. Louis Civic History)
Urban Research and Design Center Records
U.S. Presidential Debate Collection (1992)
U.S. Presidential Debate Collection (1996)
U.S. Presidential Debate Collection (2000)
U.S. Presidential Debate Collection (2004)
U.S. Presidential First Lady Visitation Papers (1994) - Hillary Rodham Clinton
U.S. Presidential Visit to Washington University - George Bush (1989) Collection
U.S. Vice Presidential Debate Collection (2008)
R.G. Usher Papers (History)

V  Return to top
Veteranís Administration Contract Records (Washington University)
Henry C. Vogt Papers (Mayor of St. Charles, MO; 1951-58 and 1963-70)

W  Return to top
Washington University Accreditation Collection (University History)
Washington University Alumni Association Records
Washington University Amateur Radio Club Records
Washington University Anniversary Collection (25th)
Washington University Anniversary Collection (50th)
Washington University Anniversary Collection (75th)
Washington University Anniversary Collection (100th)
Washington University Anniversary Collection (125th)
Washington University Anniversary Collection (150th)
Washington University Association Records (organized public lectures)
(Washington University) Building Information Files
Washington University Calendar Collection
Washington University Campus Telephone Book Collection
Washington University Chancellor Information Files (University History)
Washington University Chancellor Reports and Messages (University History)
Washington University Chancellor Scrapbooks (University History)
Washington University Charter and Letter About Incorporation
Washington University Class of 1910 Collection
Washington University Club Records (Faculty Club)
Washington University Course Catalog Collection
Washington University - Histories of Departments and Schools
Washington University Inauguration Programs
Washington University Instruction Center Records
Washington University Irving Union (Student Organization)
Washington University Labor Organizing Committee (WULOC) Records
Washington University Magazine -- Index to issues -- (for Magazine, and previous Alumni Publication titles)
Washington University Magazine (listing of volumes / issues)
Washington University Memorabilia Collection
Washington University Memorial Association Records
Washington University Platbook
Washington University Radio and Television Office Records
Washington University Second Century Convocation Collection (1955)
Washington University Social Science Institute Records
Washington University Songs Collection
Washington University Taskforce on Undergraduate Research Records
Washington University Technology Associates, W.U.T.A. (Conservation of Sculpture) Records
Washington University Tree Planting Collection
Washington University Union Constitution and Minutes
Washington University Vertical Files (University History)
Murray Weidenbaum Papers (Economics)
Mary Wickes Papers (Actress)
A.J. Wilson Papers (St. Louis Transportation History)
Women's Resource Center Records (Gender Studies)
Women's Studies Program Administrative Files (Gender Studies)

Y  Return to top
Yearbooks - Hatchet (Publications)

Z  Return to top
Eugene Zimmerman Papers (Aviator)


[Return to top]  |  [Return to Finding Aids]