Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Save Time! Ask Us

Skip navigation
vertical bar

Return to Germanic Languages & Literatures main page

Germanic Languages & Literatures: Databases


Main databases

MLA Bibliography (1926 - )
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updated ten times per year. Washington University students, faculty and staff may forward article requests directly from this database to Interlibrary Loan. More info

BDSL Online (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
The major bibliography for German language and literature. Commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch. Coverage is from 1985-present. Print version in Olin, Level B: Z2231 B4.

Academic Search Premier
Full-text. Journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. More info

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, via Web of Science (1988- )
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Updated weekly.
Print version for 1976-1985 in Olin Level 1 Reference: AI3 A63

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (OCLC) (1980- )
Same database as above, via FirstSearch. Please use this version ONLY if you require data from 1980-1987. Updated weekly.

Other databases and catalogs

Biography Index
Some full-text. Index to autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Backfiles available in print 1946/1949-1984, level B: Z5301 B5.

Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
A union catalog of the records of National Library of Germany, the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek. The database includes the holdings of in Leipzig since 1913 and in Frankfurt am Main since 1945, and the Deutsches Musikarchiv Berlin.

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Full-text works with extensive scholarly commentary of more than thirty authors from the Middle Ages through early 20th century. It includes prose, poetry, drama, diaries, and letters, political speeches, and historical documents; and writings on German art and philosophy. Can search by keyword, title, author. Also browsable by author. Search interface in English or German.

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
Complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations and theses accepted at accredited institutions. Viewable 24-page previews of many disserations and theses. To request a thesis, logon on to ILLiad and fill out form.More info.

Gemeinsamer Verbundkatalog (GBV)
A union catalogue GVK of the 7 German provinces forming the GBV. This database consists of more than 17.5 million titels from books, conference proceedings,  periodicals, dissertations, microfilms and electronic resources with over 23 million holdings. The periodicals catalogue of  subito and some other German libraries has also been integrated.
Access is free of charge, all title holdings can be used to order by GBVdirekt/subito document delivery service or by ILL. Replace umlauts where they appear in words with an "e" (for example, "behaelterbau" or "auslaender").

The Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Full-text. Focusing on Women's History and feminist movements, provides access to more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact on others. Includes periodicals and monographs in 15 languages. More info

IBR Online
Officially titled: Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen or International Bibliography of Book Reviews, contains over 990,000 entries for book reviews from the years 1985 onwards. International and interdisciplinary in scope, the reviews have been published primarily in Humanities and Social Science journals. Interface in English or German. Back issues on level B: Z1035.A1 I57

IBZ Online
Officially titled: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur or International Bibliography of Periodical Literature. Also known as the "Dietrich", a international and interdisciplinary index of periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts for the years 1983 onwards. Updated monthly. Interface in English or German. Back issues on level B: AI9 .I6

Index Deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750 - 1815 (Index of German Journals 1750-1815)
The Index of German Journals contains 100,000 records of articles published 1750 - 1815. These articles are indexed with German subject headings.

JSTOR
Full-text. Contains the back runs of about 500 journals, excluding the most recent issues (3-5 years).

KLG-Online
Some full-text. Online version of the Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. A bio-bibliographical database of contemporary (post-1945) German-speaking authors. Besides biographical information, includes essays, references to primary and secondary literature. Print version in Olin, level B: Z2230 .K87.
Online access restricted to WU faculty, students, and staff. For login and password, check with Brian (bvetruba@wustl.edu; phone: 935-4824) or other library staff.

Lexis Nexis: formerly Academic Universe
Full-text. Journal index. A subset of the Lexis-Nexis service, containing full-text news, business, legal, and reference information. In the News tab, under Select Sources, select "Deutsche Presse" to limit to German-language news sources.

Project MUSE
Full-text. Access to over 300 journals in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.

VLB WWW-Server Homepage
Web access to the Verzeichnis lieferbarer Bücher, the German equivalent of Books in Print.

WorldCat (OCLC)
Information about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.