Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

Home > Chemistry & Engineering Databases

Chemistry & Engineering Databases


A-B | C-D | E-F | G-H | I-J | K-L | M-N | O-P | S-T | U-Z

«A-B»

Database Name Description Scope Access
Academic Universe See LexisNexis Academic    
ACM Digital Library Includes Conference Proceedings, Journals, and other ACM Publications Journal index and abstracts WU &Proxy
Aldrich Spectral Libraries Available on the 3 public computers in the Chemistry Library. Choose "NetAldSpec" from the Start button. A tutorial is available under the Help option. FT-NMR standard, FT-NMR 2001 supplement, and FT-IR 2002 libraries are available. Spectra WU only - Chemistry Library
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (1983 - ) Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management. Applied Science and Technology Full Text includes full text coverage of more than 98 periodicals from January 1997. Applied Science and Technology Abstracts includes abstracting of periodicals from March 1993 and indexing from October 1983. More info. Journal index and abstracts; some full-text WU & Proxy
ArXiv (1992/93 - ) e-Print full-text archives in Computer Science, Mathematics, Nonlinear Science, and Physics. Journal index and full-text Free
ASM Handbooks Online "ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions." Full-text WU & Proxy

«C-D»

«E-F»

Database Name Description Scope Access
Cambridge Structural Database The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) contains crystal structure information for over 220,000 organic and metal organic compounds. Please see Cambridge Structural Database for additional information. Available on LibChem110 computer in Chemistry Library - click the Start menu and then select ConQuest 1.7. Data WU only - Chemistry Library
ChemID Plus National Library of Medicine; search by chemical name or registry number. Data & abstracts Free
CHEMNetBASE Full-text books from CRC Press and Taylor and Francis publishers, which are searchable and/or browsable. E-Books WU & Proxy
ChemSpider ChemSpider links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures. With an abundance of additional property information, tools to upload, curate and use the data, and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information. Data Free
Chemistry WebBook (NIST) "The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species." Data Free
Compendex (1970 - ) Compendex is the internet version of The Engineering Index, the world’s premier link to the engineering literature. Compendex covers over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are represented. About half the citations (from 2,000 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing. More info. Journal index and abstract WU & Proxy
CRCNetBASE Full-text books from CRC Press and Taylor and Francis publishers, which are searchable and/or browsable. E-Books WU & Proxy
Crystallography Resources American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
Bilbao Crystallographic Server
Cambridge Structural Database
Crystallography Open Database
Mineralogy Database
Reciprocal Net
Data Varies
Crystallography Open Database Collection of crystallographic databases. Data Free
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics (1987 - ) Science research methods and protocols. The Washington University Libraries and Becker Medical Library currently subscribe to different titles which can be searched all at once or separately. More info. Full-text WU & Proxy
Current Protocols in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (1987 - 2007) Science research methods and protocols. The Washington University Libraries and Becker Medical Library currently subscribe to different titles which can be searched all at once or separately. More info. Full-text WU &Proxy
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology (1987 - ) Science research methods and protocols. The Washington University Libraries and Becker Medical Library currently subscribe to different titles which can be searched all at once or separately. More info. Full-text WU &Proxy
Current Protocols in Protein Science (1987 - ) Science research methods and protocols. The Washington University Libraries and Becker Medical Library currently subscribe to different titles which can be searched all at once or separately. More info. Full-text WU & Proxy
DETHERM - Thermophysical Properties Database Database of thermophysical properties of pure substances and mixtures, developed by Dechema. Seach by chemical compound name, formula, or CAS reaction number. Searching the database is free of charge and does not require registration. Search results are reported in a table giving for each data set: the properties reported, component names, temperature and pressure range, number of data lines, year of publication, and the cost of downloading the data set. You can perform multiple searches, select data sets and add them to a data cart. To download the data sets in your cart you have to register for a Detherm account. Limited data Free
Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE) Database The DOSE database contains data on 4123 chemicals which have been studied for environmental impact or toxicity, and provides all the required information for the assessment of risks associated with the use of those chemicals. More info. Data WU & Proxy
Directory of Graduate Research (DGRweb) "Faculties, publications and doctoral theses in departments or divisions of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry and pharmaceutical and/or medicinal chemistry at universities in the United States and Canada." Access restriction: Online version only available from the Chemistry Department at WU. Data WU only
Database Name Description Scope Access

«G-H»

«I-J»

Database Name Description Scope Access
Global Market Information Database Provides business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information. Data WU & Proxy
Database Name Description Scope Access
IEEE Xplore (1998 - present) IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings; our subscription provides access to "Journals & Magazines" and "Conference Proceedings". Full-text WU & Proxy
INSPEC (1969 - present) Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology. More info. Journal index and abstracts WU & Proxy
International Critical Tables (via Knovel) "This classic and well-known reference was originally published for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page." Full-text WU &Proxy
JCRweb (1997 - present) Journal Citation Reports provides information on journal rankings in the sciences and social sciences. More info Reports WU & Proxy

«K-L»

Database Name Description Scope Access
Knovel Online interactive books and databases. Full-text WU & Proxy
Knovel Critical Tables "This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds. Additionally, several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature." Full-text WU &Proxy
LexisNexis Academic (Formerly Academic Universe) A subset of the Lexis-Nexis service, this database contains full-text news, business, legal, and reference information sources. Newspapers included in the service are updated several times daily, newswires hourly. More info. Full-text WU & Proxy

«M-N»

Database Name Description Scope Access
Medline Access Options (1951 - present) Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. PubMed also includes some non-Medline citations, in various non-medical scientific subjects, which are added electronically by publishers. Journal index and abstracts WU & Proxy
Methods in Organic Synthesis "Methods in Organic Synthesis (MOS) is an alerting service covering the most important current developments in organic synthesis. It is designed with the synthetic organic chemist in mind, providing informative reaction schemes and covering new reactions and new methods." Data Free
Natural Products Update "Natural Product Updates (NPU) provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from over 100 primary journals. Coverage includes isolation studies, biosynthesis, new natural products and known compounds from new sources, structure determinations, and new properties and biological activities. " Data Free
NIST Standard Reference Data - Collection of Free Online Databases Freely available databases were selected from the NIST Standard Reference Data website and compiled in a browsable list. Applicable to various fields in chemistry, engineering and technology. Data and reports indexes Free
NTIS (1964 - present) From the National Technical Information Service, contains full descriptive summaries of more than 400,000 titles NTIS has received from government agencies since 1990. To purchase reports go to NTIS online ordering. US Government reports Free
Nucleic Acid Database "A repository of three-dimensional structural information about nucleic acids." Data Free

«O-P»

Database Name Description Scope Access
Organic Syntheses "Detailed experimental methods in a standard format for the synthesis of organic compounds." Procedures and Reactions Free
Patent Information List of Patent Databases and resources. Patent info Free
PIRIKA Thermochemical properties estimations. Data Free
Protein Data Bank Worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data. Data Free
PubChem Database created by NIH to provide information about small organic molecules. Data Free
PubMedCentral See Medline Access Options Data Free
Reaxys (1779 - present) Formerly DiscoveryGate, Reaxys is a web-based interface for accessing the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Data; journal index and abstracts Web-based; contact Chemistry Librarian for more information
Reciprocal Net "The Reciprocal Net is a distributed database used by research crystallographers to store information about molecular structures. Much of this data is also available to the general public." Data Free

«S-T»

Database Name Description Scope Access
SciFinder From Chemical Abstracts Service. More info Data; Journal index and abstracts WU & Proxy
Safari Tech Books Online Safari Tech Books Online is a collection of full-text, fully searchable electronic books in the field of computer science, including areas such as computing, databases, networking, operating systems, programming, software engineering, .NET, Cisco products, Web design, Java, XML and more. Includes books from four publishers: O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Prentice Hall PTR. Five simultaneous users. E-books WU & Proxy
Scitopia The federated vertical search portal scitopia.org was created through the imagination and collaboration of 21 leading science and technology societies. Data Free
SDBS - Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds "SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory database of the compounds. The spectra are EI mass, 1H decoupled 13C NMR, 1H NMR pattern (90 and/or 400 MHz), 1H NMR parameter (300 MHz pattern generated), FT-IR, laser-Raman, and ESR." Data Free
Smithsonian Physical Tables (via Knovel) Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers. Data WU & Proxy
Specs & Standards Specs & Standards is a comprehensive index of standards from more than 450 standards organizations. The service is automatically updated, so you are always retrieving the most current version of a standard. More info. Full-text WU & Proxy
SpringerLink
Chemistry E-Books Collection
Full text access to review serials and books:
Advances in Biochemical Engineering & Biotechnology
Advances in Polymer Science
Progress in Colloid & Polymer Science
Structure & Bonding
Topics in Current Chemistry
Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry
Springer Handbook of Enzymes
Full-text Wu & Proxy
STINET Scientific and Technical Reports Collection (1974 - present) "Public STINET gives you access to all unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present. There are also full-text versions of all unclassified, unlimited documents recently added into DTIC technical reports collection from September 1998 to Present." Reports index Free
Thermochemical properties estimations See Pirika Data Free
ThermoDex An index of selected thermodynamic data handbooks, which are held in many libraries Index Free
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Data on toxic chemical releases in the United States (updated in 2002). Data Free

«U-Z»

Database Name Description Scope Access
USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference 16-1 "This page provides access to Release 16-1 of the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference. You can either view the data here or download the data files and documentation in several different formats for use later on your computer. A search tool is also provided so you can look up the nutrient content of 6,661 different foods directly from this home page." Data Free
Virtual Technical Reports Center "This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds. Some metasites are listed by subject categories, as well as by institution." Index and some full-text Free
WebElements: The Periodic Table on the World Wide Web WebElements aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to the periodic table. Coverage is such that professional scientists and students at school will all find something useful. Data Free
Web of Science (1988- )
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. More info.
Journal index and abstracts WU & Proxy
Western Waters Digital Library Chronicles water usage and conservation for the Western United States; concerned about the discovery, distribution and development of water resources—and the resulting impact on people and communities. Digital library Free

A-B | C-D | E-F | G-H | I-J | K-L | M-N | O-P | S-T | U-Z