Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

Art Journal Indexes and Databases

This abbreviated list of resources, compiled by the WU Art and Architecture Library, can be seen in its entirety by visiting this link to the Databases for Research in Art, Art History & Architecture.

Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Covers 459 art periodicals, with full-text coverage of 120 journals beginning in 1997. Indexes articles and art reproductions from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Updated monthly.

Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Includes citations to journal articles and art reproductions on all aspects of art, covering 607 noted foreign-language and English language publications world-wide.

ARTbibliographies Modern (1974 - present)
Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Indexes 3,762 sources, including abstracts of journal articles, information on book reviews, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Complete Journal Source list

BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art (1973 - present)
Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, this database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,360 periodicals. Updated quarterly.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1988 - present)
Access this multidisciplinary database via the Web of Knowledge interface- choose Web of Science/Arts & Humanities Citation Index to get to the initial search screen. AHCI indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present)
Indexes articles from periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, and literature.


Back to Book Arts Resources