Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Sabin Americana: 1500-1926
Full-text. 'Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture. It touches upon the political and religious life in North America and at times South America and the Caribbean. It features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the days of the early Republic and Jacksonian period, the antebellum period, Civil War, era of Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West and the onset of the Gilded Age. Through published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres, Sabin opens a window onto the Americas...' (from Help/About page in database)
- Safari Tech Books Online (8 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Collection of over 12,000 full-text electronic books on computing, databases, networking, operating systems, programming, software engineering, .NET, Cisco products, Web design, Java, XML and more. More info
- Sanborn Maps of Illinois (1867 - 1970)
Provides digital access to thousands of large-scale Sanborn fire insurance maps searchable by Address and GPS coordinates of thousands of American towns and cities.
- Sanborn Maps of Louisiana (1867 - 1970)
Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities and towns in Louisiana, providing detailed property and land-use records.
- Sanborn Maps of Missouri (1867 - 1970)
Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities and towns in Missouri, providing detailed property and land-use records. More info
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
Not earthquakes, not fires, not even the murder of one of its owners by a minister could stop the independent and often irreverent presses of the San Francisco Chronicle. Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, this newspaper lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America’s entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States.
During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
SBRnet focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry…sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
Schillers Werke im WWW
Comprises the complete works of Friedrich von Schiller (1759 - 1805), including his poetry and plays, the translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters to and from Schiller and the Conversations.
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1988 - )
Online access to the Saint Louis Post-Dispatch, including the archive from 1988 to the present. Please note that while you can search the archive for free, full-text articles are not free on the web. The Libraries do have this newspaper on microfilm. Please ask at the Olin Library Help Desk for assistance. More info
- SCI-TECHnetBASE is now called CRCnetBASE
Full-text. Over 5,000 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. NOTE that the Libraries subscribe to most but not all the full-text content found on this site. More info
- Science Citation Index Expanded, via Web of Science (1970 - )
Journal index. A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes over 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines, with all cited references captured. Updated weekly. More info
Electronic journals and books. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Click on Search to search
all titles. More info
Journal indexes and other materials. Information provided by 10 U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Allows multidatabase searching across up to 10 files, such as ERIC, PubMed, Agricola, USDA Integrated Taxonomic Informati
on System, NSF Publications, U.S. Patents, and many more. More info
- SciFinder Web
Journal Index. Chemical Abstracts database, covering journals in chemistry and related fields. Now available via the web, but requires individual registration. Registration form for Danforth campus users. More info
Journal index. 'SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.' It contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. It offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. (from About Scopus)
- Serials Directory
Full-text. Directory of bibliographic information for popular U.S. and international serials from over 85,000 publishers with over 155,000 titles and historical data for over 20,000 titles. Updated quarterly. More info
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Full-text. 'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection ...totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.' Note: Also searchable as part of Gale NewsVault. More info
- Siku Quanshu
Full-text. The most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the eighteenth century, including history, geography, politics, economics, science, technology, philosophy and the arts. It contains 3,460 works, in more than 36,000 volumes. It is not yet available on the web but only via a client program. More info
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Full-text. 'You have access to part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of Slavery and part IV: The ZAge of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.' (from database homepage)
- Social Explorer
'Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. ...explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing.' More info
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
"The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 275,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 226,300 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications." (from database homepage) More info
- Social Sciences Citation Index, via Web of Science (1970 - )
Journal index. A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly. More info
- Social Services Abstracts (1980 - )
Journal index. Indexes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development More info
- Social Work Abstracts (1966 - ) (8 concurrent users allowed)
Journal index. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., this database contains records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. More info
- SocINDEX with Full Text (1895 - )
Journal index, some full-text. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Access provided to WU by the Social Work Library. More info
- SourceOECD has a new interface: OECD iLibrary
Full-text. SourceOECD (OECD iLibrary) is the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals. More info
- Specs & Standards (formerly Tech Data Xpress)
Specs & Standards is a comprehensive index of standards from more than 450 standards organizations. More info
- SPIE Digital Library
Full text. 'The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present.' (from site homepage) The Libraries have also subscribed to the ebooks on the site. Quick Start Guide (pdf)
Electronic journals and books. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. More info
- Springer Protocols
Full text. Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Full-text encyclopedia. Free on the web, though WUSTL Libraries does support this project financially.
- The Statesman's Yearbook Online
Full-text. Reliable, concise information on any country in the world.
- STAT-USA has ceased. Please see the Statistical Information Research Guide for links to other sources of statistics.
Full-text. Searchable text of core textbooks in medicine. Subscribed by Becker Medical Library, available to all of WU.
- State Papers Online: the Government of Britain, 1509-1714
Full-text access to parts I, II, III, and IV of this collection. Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic; Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders,Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic; Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council Available to all of WU.
- Statistical Abstract (Government)
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Chapter headings are currently given down the left side of the page. Notice that you can download the tables as spreadsheets from that column, or see the printed version (.pdf) or earlier editions from the toolbar across the top.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Statistical Abstracts, Historical
This site provides links to .pdf versions of earlier editions of Statistical Abstract of the United States, and to the Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. As such, it can provide useful information about trends over time, or 'snapshots' of the country at a given point in time.
- The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
Contains full text of the newspaper St. Louis post-dispatch from 1874-1922 including its title variants.
- Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Aluka)
Full text. 'The struggles for freedom in Southern Africa were both a regional and global phenomenon. As such, documentation of the struggles is scattered around the world, reflecting the history itself: colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. The Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa Collection brings together materials from various sites throughout the world and makes them available online...' (from database intro page) More info
- Substance Registry System
Identification information on more than 70,000 chemicals and other substances, from the U.S. EPA. More info
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online
Full-text. 'The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
The online edition includes all SEG volumes, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series. Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online is automatically updated upon publication of the annual volume.' (from database homepage)
- SUR, 1931-1991
SUR, one of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century, is now available in an easy-to-use electronic format. This collection includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements. Users can search by author, title, genre, keyword and full-text, with a user-friendly interface in Spanish or English.
- Survey of Current Business
A U.S. Department of Commerce monthly publication that provides data on U.S. business on the regional, national, and international levels. Among statistical series covered are personal income, inventories and sales, national income and product accounts, foreign direct investment in the United States, U.S. direct investment abroad, international transactions, and gross state product.