Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- PAIS International and Archive (1915 - )
Journal index. Indexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies. More info
- Palestine Post (1932-1950)
Full text. 'The Palestine Post provides a glimpse into some of the central events of the 20th century, including World War II, the Holocaust, and the development of the post-war world order. The newspaper is a rich source of information on Palestine during the British Mandate, the Zionist-Palestinian conflict, the history of the Yishuv (Jewish settlement in Palestine), the creation of the State of Israel, and the 1948 War of Independence. At the same time, the newspaper includes a wealth of information on Jewish communities throughout the world.' (from database homepage)
- (New) Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Full-text. 'The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by
Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more
than 1,500 of the world's leading economists.' (from database homepage) More info
Papal Letters Online (LITPA) (3 users)
The database Ut per litteras apostolicas represents an electronic version of the renowned Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe siècle (32 vols.; Rome, 1883- ) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIVe siècle (48 vols.; Rome, 1899- ). This publication provides access to valuable sources not only for church historians but those interested in politics, socio-economic affairs, warfare, cultural history, even the environment.
- The Papers of Alexander Hamilton Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Remembered above all as the nation’s first great fiscal voice, Alexander Hamilton is known for the range of his accomplishments, extending into the arenas of diplomacy, warfare, political strategy, and (via Hamilton’s primary authorship of The Federalist Papers) constitutional law. This digital edition of The Papers of Alexander Hamilton contains all twenty-seven volumes of the print edition—all the writings by and to Hamilton known to exist, some 12,500 documents—including all editorial annotations.' (from database homepage) More info
- The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers released through 2005 in one online publication.' (from database homepage) More info
- The Papers of James Madison Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'The Papers of James Madison documents the life and work of one of the most important political and constitutional thinkers in our nation’s history. As chief author of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, secretary of state during the Louisiana Purchase, and the fourth president of the United States, Madison played a central role in the American founding and the growth of the early Republic. This online resource contains all of the content of the print edition and adds to this a powerful XML-based search functionality, linked cross-references, and the ability to navigate chronologically or by series volume.' (from database homepage) More info
- The Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Crucial to our nation’s history as author of the Declaration of Independence and third president, Thomas Jefferson was also a major figure in the Enlightenment, representing for Europeans the embodiment of the early nineteenth-century American mind. Since 1950, his writings have been compiled in the ongoing project The Papers of Thomas Jefferson. Rotunda’s digital edition brings together all thirty-three volumes published through 2006 into one searchable online resource.' (from database homepage) More info
- PapersFirst (FirstSearch) or via WorldCat.org (1993 - )
Over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present. Updated monthly. More
- Patent Lens
Full text, patents relevant to life sciences from worldwide sources. More info
- Patrologia Latina
"The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included."
- Philadelphia Tribune, Historical (1912-2002)
The Philadelphia Tribune, the oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
- Philosopher's Index (1940 - ) (4 concurrent users allowed)
Journal index. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Updated quarterly. More info
- Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis (Archives Unbound)
Full-text. 'As outspoken lesbian organizers for civil rights, civil liberties, and human dignity whose personal relationship fueled decades of political activism, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin created and helped shape the modern gay and feminist movements. They are stellar examples of engaged citizens: women of extraordinary courage, persistence, intelligence, humor, and decency, who refused to be silenced by fear. Not only were they founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB), but they also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement.' (from database homepage)
- PILOTS or PILOTS (free government site)
Index. PILOTS is Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. It attempts to include citations to all literature on PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Updated monthly. More info
- Pittsburgh Courier, Historical (1911-2002)
The Pittsburgh Courier was one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
"Provides global and local connections that strengthen research by exploring new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students." More info
- Play Index (1949 - ) (1 concurrent user allowed)
Find citations to some 31,000 plays published individually or in collections. More info
- Polling the Nations (1986 - ) (4 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. An online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. More info
- Popline (1970 - )
Journal index. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals and other materials for worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues. Updated twice monthly. More info
- PressDisplay (current 60 days) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Full-color, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world, created by NewspaperDirect: 'Instant access to 1000+ newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages!' (from database homepage) Note that this is a rolling file; for most papers, only the most current 60 days are available. For a few titles, the time period is shorter. 3 concurrent users; please sign out when finished.
- PrimateLit (1940 - 2010 )
Journal index. Provides indexing from books and journals and other scientific literature about nonhuman primates. More info
- ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch) or via WorldCat.org (1993 - )
Over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present. Updated monthly. More info
- Project MUSE
Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together. More info
- Projekt Dyabola (Archäologische Bibliographie via Projekt Dyabola)
Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology. More info
- LexisNexis Congressional is now ProQuest Congressional
Full-text. U.S. legislative information, including full-text of bills & laws. More info
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1861 - )
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis. More info
- ProQuest Legislative Insight (1929 - )
Contains over 18,000 federal legislative histories with digital full text publications covering laws from 1929 to present. For federal laws between 1969 and current, coverage will be similar to ProQuest Congressional. This database provides legislative histories for 10,000 laws passed between 1929 and 1968 that are not in ProQuest Congressional. Purchased by the WU Law Library.
- LexisNexis Statistical DataSets is now ProQuest Statistical DataSets
Statistical data tool that lets you trend, rank, and map statistics from hundreds of public domain and licensed datasets. More info
International database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care.
- PsycARTICLES (1894 - )
Contains full-text articles from APA and other journals, mostly from volume 1 of each journal. Updated weekly. More info
- PsycCRITIQUES (1956 - )
Full-text reviews of books, films, videos and software in the field of psychology. More info
- Psychiatry Online (1998 - )
Full-text. A collection of journals, textbooks, reference sources and news from American Psychiatric Publishing; includes DSM-IV. More info
- PsycINFO (1887 - )
Journal index. Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Updated monthly. More info
'Pubget is the search engine for life science PDFs. Pubget makes scientific research easier by simplifying the process of finding, managing and analyzing scientific papers. The core solution at www.pubget.com provides article-level tools making content discovery, access and copyright management much easier for the user.' (from About on the site). Expanded to include the arXiv repository, it can also be used to locate and retrieve papers in mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
- PubMed (1946 - )
Journal index. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. More info and other options
- Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (1991 - )
Journal index. An index of over 300 selected periodicals (mostly scholarly) from 29 African countries. Publications are acquired from a variety of sources, including
commercial publishers, international, governmental, and non-governmental organizations.