A |
B | C | D |
E | F | G |
H | I | J |
K | L | M |
N | O | P |
Q | R | S |
T | U | V |
W | X |
Y | Z
Databases: P
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- PAIS International and Archive (1915 - )
PAIS International (1976-present)
PAIS Archive (1915-1976)
Journal index. Indexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies. More info - Palestine Post (1932-1950)
Full text. 'The Palestine Post provides a glimpse into some of the central events of the 20th century, including World War II, the Holocaust, and the development of the post-war world order. The newspaper is a rich source of information on Palestine during the British Mandate, the Zionist-Palestinian conflict, the history of the Yishuv (Jewish settlement in Palestine), the creation of the State of Israel, and the 1948 War of Independence. At the same time, the newspaper includes a wealth of information on Jewish communities throughout the world.' (from database homepage) - (New) Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Full-text. 'The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists.' (from database homepage) More info - The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers released through 2005 in one online publication.' (from database homepage) More info - The Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Crucial to our nation’s history as author of the Declaration of Independence and third president, Thomas Jefferson was also a major figure in the Enlightenment, representing for Europeans the embodiment of the early nineteenth-century American mind. Since 1950, his writings have been compiled in the ongoing project The Papers of Thomas Jefferson. Rotunda’s digital edition brings together all thirty-three volumes published through 2006 into one searchable online resource.' (from database homepage) More info - PapersFirst (1993 - )
Over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present. Updated monthly. More info - Patent Lens
Full text, patents relevant to life sciences from worldwide sources. More info - Philosopher's Index (1940 - ) (4 concurrent users allowed)
Journal index. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Updated quarterly. More info - PILOTS (CSA Illumina) or PILOTS (government site)
Index. PILOTS is Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. It attempts to include citations to all literature on PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Updated monthly. More info - Play Index (1949 - ) (1 concurrent user allowed)
Find citations to some 31,000 plays published individually or in collections. More info - Political Science and Government Abstracts (now called
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) (1975 - )
Journal Index. Covers political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. More info - Polling the Nations (1986 - ) (4 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. A compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. More info - Popline (1970 - )
Journal index. Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals and other materials for worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues. Updated twice monthly. More info - POSTnet
Please see St. Louis Post-Dispatch on the Databases: S page. - PressDisplay (current 60 days) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Full-color, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world, created by NewspaperDirect: 'Instant access to 1000+ newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages!' (from database homepage) Note that this is a rolling file; for most papers, only the most current 60 days are available. For a few titles, the time period is shorter. 3 concurrent users; please sign out when finished. - PrimateLit (1940 - )
Journal index. Provides indexing from books and journals and other scientific literature about nonhuman primates. More info - ProceedingsFirst (1993 - )
Over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present. Updated monthly. More info - Project MUSE
Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together. More info - Projekt Dyabola (Archäologische Bibliographie via Projekt Dyabola)
Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology. More info - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1861 - )
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis. More info - Protein Science Encyclopedia: online (2008)
Full-text. Covers structure, function, analytical methods, engineering, and medical aspects of proteins. See encyclopedia homepage for more info. - PsycARTICLES (1894 - )
Contains full-text articles from APA and other journals, mostly from volume 1 of each journal. Updated weekly. More info - PsycCRITIQUES (1956 - )
Full-text reviews of books, films, videos and software in the field of psychology. More info - Psychiatry Online (1998 - )
Full-text. A collection of journals, textbooks, reference sources and news from American Psychiatric Publishing; includes DSM-IV. More info - PsycINFO (1887 - )
Journal index. Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Updated monthly. More info - PubGet
'Pubget solves the problem of full-text document access in life science research. Instead of search results linking to papers, with Pubget's proprietary technology, the search results ARE the papers. Once you find the papers you want, you can save, manage and share them — all online.' (from About Us on the site). Recently expanded to include the arXiv repository, so can be used to locate and retrieve papers in mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. - Publishers Directory: Search Gale Directory Library
Full-text directories. Includes Publishers Directory beginning with the 2008, 32nd ed., and Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, beginning with the 2008, 143rd edition. - PubMed (1950 - )
Journal index. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. More info and other options

