Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Macroeconomic Advisers
A St. Louis based company that provides economic forecasts for the United States. Some international data is available. Larry Meyer, former Federal Reserve Governor, is affiliated with this organization. Reports in the Public Reading Room are freely available. NOTE: does not work with Firefox; use Internet Explorer.
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800 - 1926
Full-text. Covers the watershed period of legal development during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries; a full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises of the period. More info
- The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620 - 1926
Full-text. A fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
- The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600 - 1926
Full-text. A collection of content describing the courtroom dramas that scandalized society in America, the British Empire and the world. The literature of legal transcripts and sensational trial accounts offers an unfiltered narrative into the daily lives of everyday people. Trials publications may be the best historical source we have for sex, gender, class, marriage and divorce and raise interesting questions about the nature of celebrity and crime within a given era.
The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs,
Full-text. Comprises over 150,000 cases from the generation before the American Civil War to the decade of the Vietnam War and Watergate. It covers every aspect of law: civil rights law; constitutional law; corporate law; environmental law; gender law; labor law; legal history and legal theory; property law; taxation; trademark and intellectual property law, among other subjects. Document types include Appellant's Brief; Appellee's Brief; Application for Review; Application for Writ; Brief in Opposition; Brief of Real Party; Intervenor’s Brief; Jurisdictional Statement; Letter Brief; Opposition for Review; Oral Transcript; Petition; Petition for Rehearing; Petitioner’s Brief; Petition for Writ of Certiorari; Relator’s Brief; Supplement to Petition; Transcript; among other sources.
- The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (1460 - 1850)
Full-text. Includes more than 59,500 titles (67,000 volumes), of books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more. In over 11 million pages, it tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. More info
- Datamonitor 360 is now Marketline Advantage
Provides coverage of 30,000+ companies and 3500+ industrial profiles as well as country profiles, country statistics, and financial statistics tracked by Marketline. Updated annually.
- Marquis Who’s Who on the Web (5
concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Comprehensive profiles on over 1.3 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. More info
- MAS Ultra (1975 - )
Full-text. Complements Academic Search Complete; contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, plus biographies, primary source documents, pamphlets, and reference books. More info
- Mass Observation Online (Includes Mass Observation I, II and III)
This resource includes essays on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. It has been used by anthropologists, cultural and social historians, literary scholars, performance artists, sociologists, and those working in education, war studies and gender studies. The archives include photographs, file reports, diaries, day surveys and links to other sites. Topic collections include: Film, reading habits, dreams, religion, victory celebrations, capital punishment, smoking habits, drinking habits, gambling, posters, Britain Can Make it Exhibition 1946, reconstruction, family planning, sexual behaviour, Beveridge social surveys, music, dancing and jazz, propaganda and morale, conscientious objection and pacifism, holidays, newspaper reading, anti-semitism, industry, leisure and sport.
- MathSciNet (1940 - )
Journal index. Includes Mathematical Reviews, including review texts (abstracts), from 1940 to the present. More info
- Ma'agarim: The Hebrew Language Historical Dictionary Project
The overarching goal of the HDP is to present the history and development of the Hebrew lexicon, from the earliest occurrences of words down through their most recent documentation. Whereas similar historical dictionary projects in Europe merely brought citations from texts of recent centuries, the Academy’s HDP is based upon Hebrew texts up until 1100 CE, and large selections of literature from the periods thereafter until the founding of the State of Israel. It was decided to begin with texts from the post-biblical period, and thus the database reflects more than 2000 years of Hebrew writing. – description from - The Academy of the Hebrew Language - http://hebrew-academy.huji.ac.il/English/HistoricalDictionaryProject/Pages/default.aspx
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
Full-text. '...provides a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern sources online.' More info
- Medieval Sourcesonline
Full-text. 'Developed from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series, this is an exciting electronic project which provides the full text of all of the books in the series for students, academics, colleges and universities.' More info
- Medieval Travel Writing
This project provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. The manuscripts are sourced from the British Library, the Bodleian Library, Cambridge University Library, Trinity College, Cambridge, Heidelberg University, Berlin Staatsbibliothek, the National Library of Vienna, St Gall Cloister Library in Switzerland, the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 30 other Libraries and Archives to make a truly international collection. In addition to manuscript sources detailing the journeys of famous travellers from Prester John and Marco Polo to Sir John Mandeville and John Capgrave, the collection contains translations and supporting materials, maps showing the routes of the travellers, and introductory essays by leading scholars.
- MEDLINE (NIH/PubMed) (1946 - ) OR MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (1965 - ) or MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge) (1950 - )
Journal index. More than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Updated daily. More info and other options
- Mental Measurements Yearbook has been merged with Tests in Print (1 concurrent user allowed)
Mental Measurements Yearbook is a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments, covering psychology, education, business, leadership, and more. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. More info
- Merck Index (14th ed., 2006)
Full-text. Merck Index - An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals, now available and searchable through Knovel Library. Older editions are available in print.
- Methods in Organic Synthesis (2000 - )
An alerting service covering the most important current developments in organic synthesis. More info
- Middle East, Series 1: Arab Israeli relations, 1917-1970
The collection contains nearly 138,000 images selected from the National Archives of the UK. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states. Some of the topics covered include the British capture of Jerusalem, the milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948, Jewish terror groups, the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, the Border wars of the 1950s, formation of the United Arab Republic, the Cold War in the Middle East and Black September.
- Middle English Compendium
Full-text. Includes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. More info
- The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record
Full text. Part of The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy at the Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library.
- Military & Government Collection
Full-text. Journal index. Complementing Academic Search Premier, and designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals, plus pamphlets and indexing of additional titles. More info
- John Milton Bibliography
"This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799." More info
- Mintel Global Market Navigator
'Mintel Global Market Navigator is a comprehensive database designed to give you and your business instant access to critical market data for consumer industries across the world. Very simply, at the touch of a button, Global Market Navigator will tell you the market size, segmentation and market share along with 5 years' historical and 5 years' forecast data.' (from database homepage) Once connected, scroll down and click 'accept' to enter the site.
- Mintel Reports
Use this resource to find market research reports for a number of industries. The information in the reports is a mix of primary data collected by Mintel together with secondary source information. Once connected, scroll down and click 'I agree' to enter the site. Free individual registration is required.
- MLA International Bibliography (1926 - )
Journal index. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updated ten times per year. You may also access MLA Directory of Periodicals separately, or access both MLA International Bibliography and MLA Directory of Periodicals at the same time. More info
- Modern Hebrew Literature: a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon
An online database of 2000 entries in Hebrew updated daily with new entries and citations of secondary sources, many of them linked to reviews in Israeli dailies. It succeeds Getzel Kressel's magnum opus, Cyclopedia of Modern Hebrew Literature (1965 - 1967).
Monthly Catalogue of U.S. Government Publications(1895-1976)
The Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1895-1976 was established by the Printing Act of January 12, 1895. It is issued each month by the Superintendent of Documents for the Government Printing Office, and catalogs all publications of the United States government, including those of the Congress and all executive departments (with the exception of administrative and confidential or restricted documents). Records for all publications since July 1976 have been available online at the GPO's website, but earlier issues have generally only been available in print or on microfilm. This online version will make all issues of the Monthly Catalog from 1895 to June 1976 available online, both as keyed full text records and as page images of the original printed catalog.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica (3 users)
The Monumenta Germaniae Historica was founded in 1819 by the Gesellschaft für Deutschlands ältere Geschichtskunde. It is without doubt one of the most prestigious editorial undertakings for the critical publication of medieval historical texts. The MGH has established for all Western scholarship a standard for critical editions. The search-software offers a wide range of search possibilities.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center (3 concurrent users allowed)
Offers a real-time turnkey solution for investment research. Provides access to many popular Premium features of Morningstar.com®, including research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.
- MUSE (Project MUSE)
Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together. More info