Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
La bibliographie des écrivains français (BIBLIFRE) (3 users)
The Bibliothèque bibliographique des littératures francophones européennes (Bi.B.Li.Fr.E.) represents an electronic version of the printed collection « Bibliographie des écrivains français » and is an indispensable bibliographic tool for the study of the French literature from the Middle Ages up to the 20th century.
- LAPOP (Latin American Public Opinion Project)/AmericasBarometer Surveys (2004 - )
Full text reports and data sets. Surveys democratic public opinion and behavior in the Americas. Individual registration required for data set access. More info
- LandScan Global
LandScan Global 2012: LandScan makes available global population distribution geospatial data representing ambient population by combining spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. LandScan population distribution models are tailored to match the data conditions and geographical nature of each individual country and region.
- Latin American Newspapers (1822 - 1922)
Full-text. Provides more than 80 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. These two collections provide unparalleled coverage of events from Latin America, spanning 1822-1922.
- Latinobarómeter (1995 - )
'Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants... Latinobarómetro Corporation researches the development of democracy and economies as well as societies, using indicators of opinion, attitudes, behaviour and values.' (from database homepage)
- Leadership Library® on the Internet (1 concurrent user allowed)
Directory of 400,000 individuals at 40,000 leading U.S. government, business, professional, and nonprofit organizations. More info
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Full text. Publishes new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching.
- Legislative Insight (ProQuest) (1929 - )
Contains over 18,000 federal legislative histories with digital full text publications covering laws from 1929 to present. For federal laws between 1969 and current, coverage will be similar to ProQuest Congressional. This database provides legislative histories for 10,000 laws passed between 1929 and 1968 that are not in ProQuest Congressional. Purchased by the WU Law Library.
- The Letters of Christina Rossetti (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Christina Rossetti has come to be considered one of the major poets of the Victorian era. This digital edition incorporates the complete text of the 4-volume print edition, The Letters of Christina Rossetti. ed. All 2124 letters may be read in chronological order or searched by full text or recipient.' (from database homepage) More info
- The Letters of Matthew Arnold (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Matthew Arnold was the preeminent poet/critic of the second half of the nineteenth century. Including nearly 4,000 letters, The Letters of Matthew Arnold represents the most comprehensive and assiduously annotated collection of his correspondence available.' (from database homepage) More info
Lexikon des Mittelalters (3 users)
The Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) is an indispensable tool for medievalists across all disciplines. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. The ancient roots of Western Culture, as well as neighbouring cultures, such as the Byzantine, the Arabic and the Jewish, occupy a prominent position in the encyclopaedia.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text. Journal index. A subset of the Lexis-Nexis service, containing full-text news, business, legal, and reference information. More info
- LexisNexis Congressional is now ProQuest Congressional
Full-text. U.S. legislative information, including full-text of bills & laws. More info
- LexisNexis Statistical DataSets is now ProQuest Statistical DataSets
Statistical data tool that lets you trend, rank, and map statistics from hundreds of public domain and licensed datasets. More info
- LGBT Life
Journal/magazine index. 'LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.' More info
"FREDŽ (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. With FREDŽ you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series."
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. More info
- Library Literature & Information Science (1984 - ) (1 concurrent user allowed)
Journal index. More than 200 library and information-science periodicals published internationally, and more than 600 books per year. Updated monthly. More info
Library of Latin Texts B (3 users)
Library of Latin Texts (former abbreviation: CLCLT) is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas.
LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. For 26 years contributing to increase visibility, access and quality of health information in the Region.
- The Lily
The Lily, the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). Published in Seneca Falls, New York and priced at 50 cents a year, the newspaper began as a temperance journal for “home distribution” among members of the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society, which had formed in 1848.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973 - )
Journal index. '...indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.' More info
- The Literary Encyclopedia
Full text. 'The Literary Encyclopedia expanding global literary reference work written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides more than 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics...' More info
- Literary Index
Indexes the Gale literary series, allowing you to find which Gale literature series include entries on an author and to search for the title of a literary work to see who wrote it and/or where it's discussed in Gale's literature criticism series. Note that the WUStL Libraries do not own all the series indexed, but we do have most of them. See Literature Criticism Online, below: the Libraries have purchased online access for 2007 forward. More info
- Literary Manuscripts (Berg)
The New York Public Library’s Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of Victorian Manuscripts is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, the Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Most of these unique manuscripts are unavailable in any medium elsewhere. They are supplemented by some rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period’s greatest works.
Researchers and students can trace the close interconnection of these Victorian authors – and subsequently their texts – through the mass of personal correspondence between them, revealing the close circles in which the Victorian literary world moved. This resource is of immense importance to those researching the business of Victorian publishing, documenting the relationship between writers and their publishers through correspondence and financial and legal documents.
Essays by leading scholars will suggest approaches to the material, provide textual analysis, and offer historical accounts of the Victorian publishing industry and literary culture.
- Literary Market Place
Directory of U.S. and international publishers and agents. We no longer subscribe, but some information is available on the site for free, after you register as a free user. More info
- Literature Criticism Online (2007 - )
Full-text. The 10 individual Thomson Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. More info
- Literature Online (LION Complete) (4 concurrent users allowed)
'A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources.' More info
- Local Market Audience Analyst
'...the next generation consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers.' Note: does not work in Firefox; use Internet Explorer.
- Los Angeles Sentinel, Historical (1934-2005)
The Los Angeles Sentinel is the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.
- Los Angeles Times (Most recent 6 months)
Full-text. Newspaper. The most recent 6 months are available in LexisNexis Academic. More info
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
Database offers full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles daily times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles times (1886-1989). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language. It was first published in 1883 and includes 127 volumes, now available in electronic format. Martin Luther (1483-1546) is one of the central figures in German and European history; a theologian, whose work changed the course of world history. Apart from his influence on faith and theology, and the cultural and political changes taking place in the western world during the 16th century, his contribution to the development of a unified German language is particularly outstanding.