General Databases
Articles & Indexes
Reference Sources
More Resources
Databases: H
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970 - )
Journal index. Article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. More info - HarpWeek: The Civil War Era, Reconstruction, and the Gilded Age (1857 - 1912)
Full-text. Contains the full text of Harper's Weekly during this time period, including full-page images, which contain numerous illustrations and maps. Indexed by subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, advertising, occupation, and literary genre. More info - HathiTrust Digital Library Catalog or HathiTrust Digital Library Catalog via WorldCat (prototype)
Some full view and some limited view sources; much of the same content as Google books, except "HathiTrust's search lists every page that contains a user's search term, while Google's might return a partial list." - HDP (Hebrew Dictionary Project)
The overarching goal of the HDP is to present the history and development of the Hebrew lexicon, from the earliest occurrences of words down through their most recent documentation. Whereas similar historical dictionary projects in Europe merely brought citations from texts of recent centuries, the Academy’s HDP is based upon Hebrew texts up until 1100 CE, and large selections of literature from the periods thereafter until the founding of the State of Israel. It was decided to begin with texts from the post-biblical period, and thus the database reflects more than 2000 years of Hebrew writing. – description from - The Academy of the Hebrew Language - http://hebrew-academy.huji.ac.il/English/HistoricalDictionaryProject/Pages/default.aspx - Health & Wellness Resource Center
Full-text. Journal index. Provides bibliographic references, abstracts and full text for excerpts and articles from a variety of health publications. Provided courtesy of the Becker Medical Library. More info - HEDBIB
Journal index. 'The International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education (HEDBIB) is an integrated database offering more than 30.000 references on higher education systems, administration, planning and policy, costs and finances, evaluation of higher education, issues related to staff and students, cooperation, mobility and equivalences of degrees, curricula, teaching methods and learning.' (from database homepage) - Hein Online
Full text. Many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large; scroll list of 'Subscribed Libraries' in the left-hand column once connected. Campus-wide access is due to subscription by the WU Law Library. - Hein Online Law Journal Library
Full text. Journal index. More than 900 searchable full-text law journals. Campus-wide access is due to subscription by the WU Law Library. - Highwire Press
'ePublishing Solutions for the Scholarly Community: HighWire provides online hosting and technology solutions to publishers, management tools for librarians and unique search functionality for researchers.' Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. More info - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) (1970 - )
Journal index. Article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. More info - Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) (1955 - )
Journal index. Provides historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. More info - Historical Jewish Press
Full-text. 'This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each newspaper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.' (from database homepage) - Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge)
eBook, full-text. A standard source for quantitative facts of American history, completely expanded and revised, now available as a searchable online database. More info - History
of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975 - )(5 concurrent users allowed)
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. More info - HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) (1935 - )
Abstracts and complete bibliographic information for published materials about Latin America on topics in the social sciences and humanities. Available in English or Spanish. More info - Holocaust Encyclopedia
Full-text. A project of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. Provides links to images, documents, bibliographies, personal stories, historical film footage and other resources. Also contains nearly 300 brief articles which are searchable from the home page. - Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier repository of policy related documents on homeland security. It is organized to support local, state and federal decision-making and analysis and structured to assist scholars and academics in homeland security research. - House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 18th, 19th, and 20th Centuries
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. They are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the history of the past two centuries, and are fundamental to an understanding of current legislation, policy making and the political environment. HCPP online, with searchable full text, and detailed subject indexing, makes it possible to fully exploit the enormous potential of this resource for the first time. - The Libraries subscription to eHRAF Archaeology and eHRAF World Cultures has ceased, due to budget cuts.
- Huguet's Dictionnaire de la Langue Française du Seizième Siécle (1925-1967)
Full-text. The essential reference source for the French language during the Renaissance. With more than 100,000 entries, Huguet's Dictionnaire contains all the known words of the French language from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. For each entry, spelling variations are provided as well as the word's translation into modern French. - Human Resources Abstracts subscription has ceased, due to budget cuts. Please contact your subject librarian for suggestions of other databases for your topic.

