General Databases
Articles & Indexes
Reference Sources
More Resources
Databases: G
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Gale Literary Index
Indexes the Gale literary series, allowing you to find which Gale literature series include entries on an author and to search for the title of a literary work to see who wrote it and/or where it's discussed in Gale's literature criticism series. Note that the WUStL Libraries do not own all the series indexed, but we do have most of them. More info - Gale NewsVault
Full-text. Cross-search all subscribed Gale newspaper archives at one time: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and (London) Times Digital Archive. You can also browse newspapers and periodicals by title and by place of publication; read newspapers from cover to cover in full screen; save, print and bookmark search results and grab, pan and zoom images; and cross-browse all newspapers published on the same date. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text reference books. The Libraries have purchased more than 50 reference books from Gale, on a wide variety of topics. You can search them all at one time here. - Gallup Brain (1935 - )
Full-text. 'The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 70 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to hundreds of thousands of questions, and responses from millions of people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935. This unparalleled public opinion database also houses Gallup Poll and Gallup Management Journal articles that feature in-depth public opinion and management data analyses.' (through October, 2007; from database homepage) - GAO Reports
GAO's primary products are reports, often called "blue books," and testimony before Congress. GAO also issues correspondence (letters), which are narrower in scope, of more limited interest, and do not contain recommendations. With virtually the entire federal government subject to its review, the agency issues a steady stream of products, usually over 900 separate products a year. - Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life: see LGBT Life
Journal/magazine index. 'LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues.' More info - Gender Studies Database (1972 - present)
Journal index, some full-text. 'Gender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.' (database description on site) - GenderWatch (1974 - )
Full-text. Journal index. A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from approximately 115 publications and archival material dating as far back as 1974. Updated quarterly. More info - GenETHXWeb (1960 -)
Journal index. Citations to literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics. More info - GeoRef (1669 - )
Journal index. Over 3 million records about geology and earth sciences. 1669 to the present (North American); 1933 to the present (entire world). Updated biweekly. More info - German Books in Print (VlB)
Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bucher. Interface is in German. - German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Archives Unbound)
Das Kloster is a collection of magical and occult texts, chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance compiled by Stuttgart antiquarian Johann Scheible, between 1845 and 1849. In addition to the Das Kloster volumes, this collection provides additional volumes of unique perspectives on Central European culture and tradition. Included are texts essential for the study of German folk traditions, the Reformation, wit and humor and 19th-century literature. - Germanistik Online Datenbank
Germanistik, the leading international publication covering German Language and Literary Studies, is now available as online database. More than 50 years of German philology are searchable electronically. The history of the discipline – critically reviewed, systematized and keyworded – is accessible online in more than 60,000 abstracts and summaries. Altogether, approximately 350,000 monographic studies, collected volumes and journals from the areas of literature, theatre studies, media studies, cultural history, and linguistics are made accessible bibliographically. - The Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945
Full-text. More than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time. More info - Gilded Age
"The Gilded Age brings together primary documents and scholarly commentary into a searchable collection that is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history. When complete, the collection will contain over 50,000 pages of fully searchable text and associated audio and video material. These materials are frequently rare and hard-to-find, and include songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera. In addition, the collection features numerous critical documentary essays that provide scholarly commentary and annotations to selected primary sources. Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides insight into the key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy." - GLBT Life, see LGBT Life
Journal/magazine index. 'LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues.' More info - Global Books in Print (new interface) or Global Books in Print (old interface)
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books and other materials from all English-speaking countries; updated quarterly. You might also want to try Amazon.com. More info - globalEDGE™
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University, globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information on global business activities. globalEDGE™ offers country insights, industry profiles, a blog, resources for teachers, diagnostic tools, and more. - Global Health (1973 - present) and Global Health Archive (1912 - 1983) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Journal Index. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. Global Health Archive provides information on public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology, and mycology. Search both databases at once. - Global Market Information Database
From Euromonitor International, provides business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information. - Gmelin (via Reaxys)
For students in Organic Chemistry. Reaxys provides reaction and substance data searching along with synthesis planning. It is an intuitive web-application with powerful and flexible search capabilities, including searching by reaction, substance, and/or numeric property data. Reaxys integrates all chemical information from the former Beilstein and Gmelin databases. For more information see this Reaxys Overview or the Reaxys Quick Reference Guide (PDF) - Goethes Werke im WWW
Contains Goethes works from the Weimer expenditure, which were originally published from 1887-1919 by Hermann Boehlau (and successors) under the patronage of the Grand Duchess Sophie of Saxonia. Supplemented by letters and other material discovered after the Weimer expediture. - Google Image Search
'The most comprehensive image search on the web.' - Google Patent Search
All patents available through Google Patent Search come from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Patents issued in the United States are public domain government information, and images of the entire database of U.S. patents are readily available online via the USPTO website. Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. Does not include international patents, though it may in the future. - Google Scholar
Scholarly literature from various sources on the Internet. More info - Google Scholar
Scholarly literature from various sources on the Internet. More info - GPO Catalog of United States Government Publications (FirstSearch) or via WorldCat.org (1976 - )
Listing of publications available from the U.S. Government Printing Office. More info - GPO MetaLib
'With the increasing amount of information being transitioned online, the U.S. Government Printing Office's (GPO) MetaLib allows Federal depository libraries to minimize the time spent researching and identifying Federal resources by utilizing the collections that have been assembled by the GPO MetaLib team. Use MetaLib's federated searching to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple databases (including reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways).' (from Accessing Federal Information Using MetaLib's Federated Search) - [Columbia] Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text of over 250,000 poems, and 450,000 poem citations. Create your own anthology by signing up for a free MyGranger's account; share folders with your friends and colleagues. Search not only by words in poems, subject, and author but also by gender, schools and movements, language, forms, nationality, era, and cultural identity. Use the split screen function to compare two poems side by side. Also included are audio recordings of some poems, and a history and criticism section with the full-text of award-winning books on poetry. - Grant Forward (Formally called IRIS)
Grants database that searches some 14,000 funding opportunities available to graduate students, faculty, undergraduate students, and institutions. Available on the WUStL campuses due to a subscription by the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences. More info - GrantStation
'GrantStation is an online funding resource for organizations seeking grants throughout the world. Providing access to a comprehensive online database of grantmakers, as well as other valuable tools, GrantStation can help your organization make smarter, better-informed fundraising decisions.' (from database homepage) NOTE: available only in the School of Social Work; please ask at the Social Work Library to be logged in. - GreenFILE
Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles. More info - Grove Art Online is now part of Oxford Art Online (8 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Dictionary. A comprehensive and authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world, as well as images. More info - Grove Music Online is now part of
Oxford Music Online (8 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Dictionary. Covers all aspects of music, and includes the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. More info - Guide to Reference
Citations on more than 16,000 reference works on all topics, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc. NOTE: to export, print, or email citations, or use the other features of the site beyond basic searching, you must create a free user account. - GuideStar (5 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Provides information about the operations, personnel, and finances of nonprofit organizations. More info

