Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- F1000: Faculty of 1000 (2001 - )
Current awareness: "post-publication peer review." Combines F1000 Biology, F1000 Medicine, The Scientist, and an open poster repository for biology and medicine; WU access only due to medical library. More info
- Factiva (6 users)
Factiva.com combines more than 35,000 sources to give students, lecturers and librarians access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. This broad range of content offers both local insight and global perspectives on every business issue and gives students the power to conduct in-depth research, track industry developments, monitor world news, track global market activity, and research global companies. The database provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide (1970 - )
Journal index. "... a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare." More info
'More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use.' Many search options are available, including an A-Z list, a listing by agency, and a tool to search across agencies.
- FII Online (Directory of Obsolete Securities)
Click Auto Login and agree to terms. FII Online allows you to point your browser to FII's database and inquire by CUSIP, Issuer / Issue Description, Tickler Date (date of action - e.g. expiration date), Service Type (Called Bonds, Reorganization, Put Options, Warrants, Stock Guide or Bond Guide), Record Type (e.g. Corporate Redemptions, Mergers, etc.), and more.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (1975 - )
Some full-text. Journal index. A comprehensive database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. More info
- Film Index International
'A major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute...provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.' More info
- First Nations Periodical Index
Journal index, of mainly Canadian Native content.
- First World War: Personal Experiences & The First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment
“The First World War: Personal Experiences,” drawn from archival collections around the world, provides an intimate glimpse into daily life in the army and auxiliary services, battles, trench warfare, weapons and equipment, and thoughts on the enemy, as seen through the eyes of the men and women who served in the First World War. Rather than official publications or newspaper accounts, this collection includes diaries, letters, scrapbooks, sketches, and photographs. Key features include interactive maps, 360° views of personal items and objects, and a virtual trench experience.
“The First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment” collates materials from the Hoover Institution Library and Archives at Stanford University, the Bibliothek für Zeitgeschichte and the Hauptstaatsarchiv in Stuttgart, Cambridge University Library, The National Archives at Kew, Mirrorpix, the Opie collection, the British Library, McMaster University and various local record offices and museums. The collection offers a wide variety of primary sources on recruitment, training, morale, public opinion, and censorship. Documents include: Minute Books of Recruiting Committees, German and Russian propaganda postcards and leaflets, photographs, posters, cartoons and scrapbooks.
FirstSearch provides access to about 13 databases, all of which have their own direct listings in these Databases pages. This link takes you to the opening page of the FirstSearch service, where you can choose which database you wish to search. More info
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975 - 1996)
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. More info
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (Parts I, II and III)
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files at The National Archives, the UK government's official archive, this digital collection focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. This project comprises the following three sections: Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964; South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1965-1971; and Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan, 1972-1980. Material including diplomatic dispatches, inward and outward telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, accounts of visits and tours, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, letters, leaflets and other ephemera is presented in this collection. Topics covered include frontier regions such as
Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, the threat posed by China and the Soviet Union, and the impact on UK, US and European trade, industrial policy, education and the media.
"The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) [is provided] by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to expand on its mission to provide economic information and data to researchers interested in the U.S. economy. On this web site you will find links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
When used in connection with data contained in FREDŽ (Federal Reserve Economic Data), FRASERŽ allows the researcher to create uninterrupted data series by accessing sources previously available only in printed form and those currently available electronically (on FREDŽ). In addition, the ability to retrieve series presented in preliminary, revised, and final releases provides a powerful tool in recreating and evaluating previous economic research and policy."
"FREDŽ (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. With FREDŽ you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series."