General Databases
Articles & Indexes
Reference Sources
More Resources
Databases: E
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (also known as Evans Digital Edition)
Full-text. Contains all content from original collection through 1800 plus newly digitized content through #50,045, published in 1800. More info - Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Full-text. 'Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.' More info - Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full-text. The publisher started from Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1922, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820. More info - Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1475 - 1700)
Full-text. Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. See also: Alpha version: EEBO Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP) , full transcriptions of a growing number of titles, the full texts of which are searchable. More info - Early European Books, Collection II only. Italian
Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring the printed record of early modern Europe, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Developed and produced in close collaboration with scholars, rare books librarians, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this new resource opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. Collection 2 contains early printed volumes from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (National Central Library of Florence). The selection of works focuses on four collections of particular historic and bibliographic importance within the library's holdings from this period: The Nencini Aldine Collection, Marginalia, Incunabula, and Sacred Representations. - Early Hebrew Newspapers
Full-text. 'The aim of this site is to provide open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century). The site itself is entirely in Hebrew. These newspapers contain a wealth of primary material on Diaspora and Land of Israel history of the period.' (from database homepage) - eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text ebooks. Search or browse the ebooks purchased by Washington University Libraries on this interface. - ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)
Full-text. Books and other materials published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom and the Americas. See also: Alpha version: ECCO Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP), full transcriptions of a growing number of titles, the full texts of which are searchable. More info - ECO, Electronic Collections Online (FirstSearch) or via WorldCat.org
(1995 - )
Journal index. Over 5,000 journals in a variety of subject areas. The Libraries have subscribed to only a few of these titles, and provide free access to the full text articles from only those journals. More info - EconData.net
'EconData.Net is designed to help practitioners, researchers, students, and other data users quickly gain access to relevant state and substate socioeconomic data. The site aims to be a convenient, comprehensive first stop for anyone searching among the vast, disparate array of public and private data sources on the Web.' A 100-page guide, 'Socioeconomic Data for Understanding Your Regional Economy: A User’s Guide,' is available as a .pdf file on the site. Some data is provided free. Other datasets are fee-based. - EconLit with Full Text (1969 - )
Full text. Indexing & abstracts and some full text for 400+ journals and 500+ collected works per year, including books, dissertations, and working papers. Updated monthly. More info - Economagic.com
Economic time series data, mostly for the U.S. - Education Full Text (1983 - ) (30 concurrent users allowed)
Journal index. Full-text. Indexes more than 400 English-language periodicals and books, and includes full-text articles from 204 of those titles. Updated monthly. More info - Education Full Text and ERIC (30 concurrent users allowed)
This link searches both the Education Full Text database (above) and also ERIC, the other major journal index in the field of education. More info about Education Full Text More info about ERIC - The Libraries subscription to eHRAF Archaeology and eHRAF World Cultures has ceased, due to budget cuts.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full-text. Books and other materials published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom and the Americas. See also: Alpha version: ECCO Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP), full transcriptions of a growing number of titles, the full texts of which are searchable. More info - Eighteenth Century Journals
Full-text. The Libraries have purchased Section II and Section IV. Newspapers and periodicals from 1685-1815. More info - The Libraries' subscription to EIU Country Reports and Country Profiles has ceased due to budget cuts. Reports for all countries are available in Business Source Complete, though there is an embargo period (the most recent 6 months is not available).
- E-Korean Studies
Full-text. Integrated and comprehensive database which includes eBooks, journal articles, reference materials, lectures, official documents, reports, images, and so on. Areas covered are varied including languages, history, philosophy, literature, etc. Also includes North Korean academic journals. It includes these specific resources:- KISS: a full text database including over 5600 academic journal titles, university publications, and research papers on all kinds of subject such as Cultural Sciences, Language & Literature, Education, Sociology, Business/Economics, Law & Politics, etc.
- KSI E-book: full text electronic books in the fields of humanities, social sciences, Arts, etc.
- Korea AtoZ: a collection of full text databases of primary sources and classical works.
- Kdatabase: a full text database on humanities and social sciences. It features articles and image files of archival documents produced by the Government-General of Korea during the Japanese colonial period and the U.S. military government.
- Electronic Enlightenment
Electronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical "conversations". - Emily Dickinson’s Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Unpublished in book form during her lifetime, the poems of Emily Dickinson were nonetheless shared with those she trusted most—through her letters. This XML-based archive brings together seventy-four poems and letters from Emily’s correspondence with her sister-in-law and primary confidante, Susan Dickinson.' (from database homepage) More info - Empire Online
Full-text. 'Over 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material, 1492-1962.' More info - Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Full-text. Encyclopedia. More info - Engineering Index (Compendex), via Engineering Village 2 (1970 - )
Journal index. Covers all aspects of engineering. More info - English Short Title Catalogue (1473-1800)
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language -- as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700. More info - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews. - Entrez Medline (1946 - )
Includes the entire Medline database PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. More info and other options - ERIC (FirstSearch) or ERIC (WorldCat.org) or ERIC (free government site) or ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Journal index. Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly. More info - esp@ce.net (1836 - )
"Free access to more than 60 million patent documents from all over the world (including U.S.) containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 (US) to today." Updated weekly. More info - Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - ) (1 concurrent user allowed)
Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Updated annually. More info - ESRI Bibliography (1980 - )
'This bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present.' (from database homepage) - Ethnic NewsWatch (1990 - )
Full-text. Journal index. A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, covering many subject areas ranging from the more focused ethnic area studies to the arts, business, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science, and sociology. More info - Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online includes 803 videos totaling roughly 548 hours.Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles. Content types: animation, documentary, field recording (edited), interview, and performance. (Description adapted from the resource) - EThOS
Full-text. EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) makes United Kingdom theses available by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand. Many UK institutions support Open Access to their theses, so download of their digital and digitised theses is free. A small number of participating institutions may not be able to offer Open Access and in this case you may have to pay for the digitization. You have to create a free account to select and download the free theses. - ETHXWeb (1960 -)
Journal index. Citations to literature on bioethics and professional ethics. More info -
Europa Sacra Online (3 users)
Europa Sacra offers complete coverage of Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates and prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs. - European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
'EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide.' (from information about the database on the site) More info - Eurostat
Full-text. Provides direct access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the euro-zone and other countries. Updated daily. - Evans Digital Edition
Full-text. See Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800), above. - EVIA Digital Archive
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis. The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan, the Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts. (Description from the resource)
- ExilPresse Digital
Full-text. A collection of 30 titles, about 100,000 pages, of selected newspaper and magazine holdings of the German Exile Archive, published 1933-1945.

