Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University
community. Information about access
from outside WU campuses.
Database of Latin Dictionaries (3 users)
The database grows gradually and comprises three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries.
Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search.
- DataLab (NCES)
Statistics compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics, which is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- Datamonitor 360 is now Marketline Advantage
Provides coverage of 30,000+ companies and 3500+ industrial profiles as well as country profiles, country statistics, and financial statistics tracked by Marketline. Updated annually.
Full text. Includes over 1,075 Korean academic journals in 10 subject areas (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Natural Science, Human Science, Linguistics, Law, Art, and Physics).
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Defining Gender has brought together over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. The images are sourced from British and European libraries and archives, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library. There is a good balance between manuscript and printed material and a broad range of document types, written by men and women.
'With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.' More
- Design & Applied Arts Index (1973 - )
Journal Index. Indexes design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards. More
- Designinform (Now called Art: Search)
Journal index and full-text journals. Contains Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR), a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service; Design ProFILES (DP), a biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects; and ReVIEW, full-text nineteenth and early twentieth century art journals.
- [Emily] Dickinson’s Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Unpublished in book form during her lifetime, the poems of Emily Dickinson were nonetheless shared with those she trusted most—through her letters. This XML-based archive brings together seventy-four poems and letters from Emily’s correspondence with her sister-in-law and primary confidante, Susan Dickinson.' (from database homepage) More info
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
Full-text. 'The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains 9,014 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.' (from database homepage)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Full-text. '...brings you complete online access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.' (from product description on website Help)
- (Oxford) Dictionary of National Biography
Full-text. '50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.' More info
Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE) Database
Full-text. The DOSE database contains data on 4123 chemicals which have been studied for environmental impact or toxicity, and provides all the required information for the assessment of risks associated with the use of those chemicals. No userid and password are required. More info
- Dictionnaire de la Langue Française du Seizième Siécle (1925-1967) (Edmond Huguet)
Full-text. The essential reference source for the French language during the Renaissance. With more than 100,000 entries, Huguet's Dictionnaire contains all the known words of the French language from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. For each entry, spelling variations are provided as well as the word's translation into modern French.
Dictionnaire d’Histoire et de Geographie Ecclesiastiques (DHGE) (3 users)
This online encyclopaedia is an unparalleled source of information for anyone interested in the history of the Church. It comprises a vast amount of information: 30 volumes, 70,000 entries and sub-entries, over 50,000 columns by specialists, aimed at an academic readership. Every year, about 1,000 articles are updated to further enrich the database.
Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universalbibliothek
Full-text electronic version "covers almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century. Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek is published with the co-operation and support of Philipp Reclam jun., Stuttgart and covers all volumes of German poetry published within Reclams Universalbibliothek since 1945"--English version of home page.
- Digital Archaeological Record - see tDAR
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Full-text. Contains a wide array of classic German literature, from early German texts to the major German writers of the 19th century. More info
- Directory of Obsolete Securities (FII Online)
Click Auto Login and agree to terms. FII Online allows you to point your browser to FII's database and inquire by CUSIP, Issuer / Issue Description, Tickler Date (date of action - e.g. expiration date), Service Type (Called Bonds, Reorganization, Put Options, Warrants, Stock Guide or Bond Guide), Record Type (e.g. Corporate Redemptions, Mergers, etc.), and more.
- Directory of Published Proceedings (1965 - )
Directory. Identifies material from more than 40,000 conferences, meetings & symposia. Also contains MInd: The Meetings Index, free information on more than 10,000 conferences, meetings & symposia.
- Disclosure Corporate Snapshots is no longer available on OCLC FirstSearch. Please contact your subject librarian for suggestions about similar databases.
- DiscoveryGate has been replaced by Reaxys.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861 - )
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis, below. More info
Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis (1996 - )
Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. You can view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses published after 1996, and download the full text (free from WUSTL campus IP addresses and via the proxy server for current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff). More info
- The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'This landmark work in historical and legal scholarship draws upon thousands of sources to trace the Constitution’s progress through each of the thirteen states’ conventions. The digital edition allows users to search the complete contents by date, title, author, recipient, or state affiliation and preserves the copious annotations of the print edition.' (from database homepage) More info
- Doing Business
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 155 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth. Produced by World Bank/Internatinal Finance Corporation.
- Dolley Madison Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Dolley Payne Madison was the most important First Lady of the nineteenth century. The DMDE will be the first-ever complete edition of all of her known correspondence. It is currently complete through April 1837, with a total of 964 documents.' (from database homepage) More info
DuXiu database is a unique e-resources gateway. It provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, including books, journal articles, newspapers, theses, conference proceedings, and video clips.
- Dyabola (Archäologische Bibliographie via Projekt Dyabola)
Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology. More info