Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals

Connect to database
(1 concurrent user allowed; please logoff when finished.)
Subject An international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich--all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 120 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages. Chronologically complements coverage available in RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Permits access, often for the first time, to primary source material offering an almost daily chronicle of music and musical life and to an immense bibliography of music.
Sources Article citations.
Dates Covered Approximately 1800 - 1950.
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help button.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) Repertoire international de la presse musicale
Provider RIPM International Center
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.