Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

Subject

The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions. You can view 24-page previews of many disserations & theses. To search just the dissertations and theses done at Washington University, connect to Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis.

Doctoral candidates at some universities, for example, Stanford University,University of Tennessee-Knoxville, University of Central Florida, Florida International University, University of Michigan, and University of Texas-Austin, are not required to submit their dissertations into this database. For most comprehensive searching, you should include other sources.

NOTE: You cannot request full-text of dissertations or theses via ILLiad from within the database; you can only order them using your own credit card. To request via ILLiad, log in to ILLiad, click on Request a Thesis, and fill out the form.

Sources Dissertations & theses.
Dates Covered 1861 ... (Indexing); 1980 ... (Abstracts of Dissertations); 1988 ... (Abstracts of Theses); there are a few dissertations prior to 1861, ranging back to 1637
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help button.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) Dissertation Abstracts, Dissertation Abstracts International
Provider UMI/ProQuest Information and Learning
UMI's Online Dissertation Services
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.