Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Subject 'North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers... The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. It includes some 300 biographies to enhance the use of the database.' (from About the Database)
Sources See description above.
Dates Covered Colonial - 1950.
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) No print counterpart for the collection itself; individual women may be searched in the online catalog.
Provider Alexander Street Press.
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.