Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Subject 'EBSCO ebook Collection provides access to a collection of thousands of scholarly, professional and reference full text books in a wide variety of subject areas. The texts are fully searchable by author, title, and keyword.
Sources Full-text books.
Dates Covered 2000-current, with 20% older than 1999.
Help Documents

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Downloading Tutorial
eBooks & Audiobooks on EBSCOhost Support Center
FAQs about eBooks on EBSCOhost

Print Counterpart (backfiles) Varies.
Provider EBSCO
Access Number of simultaneous users varies by title. Due to publisher restrictions, some titles cannot be downloaded offline. MOBIUS consortium ebooks (indicated in the catalog by "eMO books online" in Series) are not available on the Medical Campus.

FAQs for eBooks on EBSCOhost

Q.  How much can I print?
A.  60 pages.  Use the print command to the right of the screen.  The print command will also let you download the pdf of the document.  A counter will let you know the total number of available pages left to print.  If you exit and return to the book, the print counter will reset to 60 pages.

Q.  How do I place a hold on an ebook that is in use, and how will I be notified when it is available?
A.  If you receive a message that says, “Sorry, this ebook is in use,” you can enter your e-mail address in the field provided and click the Place Hold button.  The ebook is placed in the Holds area of your My EBSCOhost Folder. When the ebook is available, you are notified via the e-mail address you provided and the ebook appears in the Checkouts area of your folder. You will have 3 days to check out the ebook once you receive the email.  The hold you place against an ebook will remain active for 90 days. 

Q.  Can I “close” an EBSCO ebook that I’ve been viewing online, so it becomes available to another user?
A. ebooks that are being viewed online can be “closed” and immediately made available to other users, by clicking the Result List, New Search, Back, or Exit links in the ebook Viewer.  If an ebook is left “open” in a browser window but is no longer being used, then the ebook becomes available to other users after the last user’s EBSCOhost session expires (30 minutes, by default) and the system confirms that they haven’t used the title in 5 minutes (for a total of up to 35 minutes).
NOTE: If the ebook is from the EMO subscription (indicated in the catalog by "eMO books online" in Series), multiple users may use it concurrently.

Q. How can I download an ebook?
A.  First, you will need to download Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher. For mobile devices, you will need to download the Bluefire reading app (recommended mobile reader app available free for both iOS and Android).
After downloading Bluefire, you must authorize it with your Adobe ID before you can download and read eBooks to your mobile device.

To download an ebook to your desktop:

  1. Create or Sign into My EBSCOhost account.
  2. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
  3. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.  Ebooks can be checked out for 7 days.
  4. The ebook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.
  5. Select Open with or Save File from the resulting dialog box.

If you select Open with, your book s opened with Adobe® Digital Editions. If you select Save file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.

  1. When a downloaded ebook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe® Digital Editions

To download an ebook to your mobile device:

You will also need to install the Bluefire reading app (recommended mobile reader app available free for both iOS and Android)
After downloading Bluefire, you must authorize it with your Adobe ID before you can download and read eBooks to your device.

Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.