Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About The Cochrane Library

Subject

Evidence-based healthcare. Includes several distinct searchable databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and others. Provides Cochrane evidence based reviews for interventions, therapies, and rehabilitation in the healthcare field. Clinical trials are searchable and linked to full text articles where available. Online help and a printable PDF manual are readily accessible. Reviews are regularly updated and include commentaries to provide the latest information in the healthcare field.

A basic search allows for quick searching of clinical trials. The advanced search feature retrieves clinical reviews, allows Boolean searching, and the use of MeSH terms. Cochrane provides for user registration and saving searches.

Sources Includes 6 databases with almost 600,000 records:
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR; Cochrane Reviews) (5,171)
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE; Other Reviews) (7,048)
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL; Clinical Trials) (527,885)
  • Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR; Methods Studies) (10,191)
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA; Technology Assessments) (7,177)
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED; Economic Evaluations) (22,978)
Dates Covered Not indicated.
Help Documents Available within database; use Help option.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) No print counterpart.
Provider Wiley Interscience
Access Full text reviews and some full text clinical trial articles are limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Titles and abstracts are available to everyone. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.