Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About Cambridge Collections Online

Subject

Full-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series.

'The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 1500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers. For the author Companions each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analysed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the student vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilisations of ancient Greece and Rome.'

'The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism, this online collection contains over 1100 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 100 volumes).' (from each collection's descriptions within the website)

Sources See above.
Dates Covered Current editions.
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help/FAQs. Note: if you get a screen telling you that 'Your institution does not currently subscribe to Cambridge Collections Online' please clear the cache and cookies in your browser and try accessing the site again. If you need assistance, please Ask Us! or email the library.webmaster@wumail.wustl.edu.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) Individual books owned by the Libraries in print may be found in the online catalog.
Provider Cambridge University Press.
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.