Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About Bibliography of the History of Art

Subject

Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Note: The Bibliography of the History of Art file is no longer updated. Citations do not contain Get it! buttons; you may wish to open Citation Linker in another tab or window of your browser, and copy and paste citation information into it to locate full-text options.

'The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA. The data available on the Getty Web site as of April 1, 2010, comprises two databases: BHA and IBA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990–2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. IBA (International Bibliography of the History of Art) covers 2008 and part of 2009; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in French and English. A third database will be added to the Getty Web site during the coming months: RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), which covers 1975–1989. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973–1989.' (from http://library.getty.edu:7101/webvoy.htm)

The Libraries have subscribed to International Bibliography of Art, published by ProQuest, which includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records cover scholarship from the year 2008 to 2009, and ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards.

Sources Journal and book indexes and abstracts.
Dates Covered See description above.
Help Documents Help button available within database.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) Bibliography of the History of Art
Provider J. Paul Getty Trust
Access On the web.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.