Washington University Libraries
Site Search

Ask Us
Ask Us email  chat  phone  text

About African American Studies Center

Connect to Database
(1 concurrent user allowed; please Log out when finished.)
Subject

'The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes the highly acclaimed Africana, which presents a powerful account of the African and African American experience in five volumes. The new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience from the arrival of the black explorer, Esteban, who arrived with the Spanish in 1527, to the death of Frederick Douglass. A forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, offers the most extensive treatment of African American history into the twenty-first century and will be available online in late 2006. Bringing the contribution of African American women to the fore is the fascinating three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine. And finally, the much-anticipated African American National Biography presents African American history through the lives of its people, ultimately offering over 6,000 biographies. At launch, the site will include hundreds of biographies from this project with new entries added as part of the regular update program.' (from About the Oxford African American Studies Center)

The Libraries subscribe to only ONE concurrent user; please click the Log out button when finished.

Sources See above.
Dates Covered Current editions of reference books.
Help Documents Available within database; click on Help link.
Print Counterpart (backfiles) The Libraries own some of the works included in this database; check the online catalog for each title.
Provider Oxford University Press
Access On the web, limited to current WU students, faculty, and staff. Access to restricted resources from outside the WU campuses.
Need assistance with this database?
Contact the Olin Library Help Desk, at 935-5410, or your Subject Librarian.