Articles & Indexes
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
- Academic Guide to Jewish History
Annotates over 700 major scholarly electronic and print reference resources useful for learning, teaching and research in higher education.
- Academic Search Premier
Full-text. Journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. More info
Full-text. Provides access to over 60 key medical texts, including Harrison’s Online, plus a drug database, case files, and practice guidelines. Subscribed by the Becker Medical Library, available to all of WU.
- AccessUN is no longer available. Please use United Nations, Official Documents instead. More info
- Accounting & Tax
Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers. The quintessential accountant's database. Coverage: varies
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
Full-text. Includes over 3,300 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching. Individual titles can be found through the online catalog as well as through this website. More info
- ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
- Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary (2008 - )
Full-text. 'Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings.' (from ebook homepage) Access starts with volume 40, 2008, and will include subsequent editions as they are published.
- Acta Sanctorum
"The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.")
- The Adams Papers Digital Edition (part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'The definitive record of the nation's first great political family, The Adams Papers Digital Edition comprises John Adams's complete diaries, selected legal papers, and the ongoing series of family correspondence and state papers.' (from database homepage) More info
- Ad$pender (3 concurrent users allowed)
Data. Ad$pender is a flexible online service that draws on a five-year historical database of ad expenditure data, providing a summary of U.S. advertising in 18 different media types. Use it to understand the demographic and lifestyle traits of target markets; find out targets' online behavior; analyze how brands are spending on advertising in different media; customize reports by media, market, company brand, or product category. Note: not available from off-campus via libproxy server.
- Afghanistan and the U. S., 1945-1963
Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and very existence as an independent state have largely been determined by its geographic location at the crossroads of Central, West, and South Asia. The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. The collection contains 9,674 images from the U.S. National Archives.
- African American Newspapers (ProQuest)
Search all ProQuest African-American Newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Parts 1-8)
Full-text. Contains the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. More info
- African American Studies Center (1 concurrent user allowed)
Full-text. Provides more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field, and includes the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, and additional reference works. More info
- Ageline is no longer free from AARP.org. Please use one or more of the Psychology/Gerontology databases, or the Social Work/Gerontology databases.
- AGRICOLA (NAL) (some
earlier cites, primarily 1970 -)
Journal index; also includes other materials such as books and book chapters. Covers every major agricultural subject. More info
AGRIS (1975 - )
Journal index. An index to all aspects of agriculture which is international in scope. More info
- Alcohol Studies Database
Index. Deals with alcoholism, alcohol abuse and alcohol use. It is a joint production of "the Scholarly Communication Center, the Center of Alcohol Studies, and the Rutgers University Libraries." This database includes books, chapters, reports, audio-visual materials, and articles.
'AllAfrica Global Media is a multi-media content service provider, systems technology developer and the largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide... This website, allAfrica.com, is among the Internet's largest content sites, posting over 1000 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in our searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997).' (from Who We Are on the site)
- Access to Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive has ceased, as they are no longer available on FirstSearch.
- Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa
Full text. 'The struggles for freedom in Southern Africa were both a regional and global phenomenon. As such, documentation of the struggles is scattered around the world, reflecting the history itself: colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. The Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa Collection brings together materials from various sites throughout the world and makes them available online...' (from database intro page) More info
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) (1964 - )
Journal index. Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. More info
- America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (Archives Unbound)
For description see 'Archives Unbound' entry further down this page.
- America's Historical Imprints
Full-text. Allows searching of both Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 at the same time.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (1939 - )
Journal index. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. More info
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
"Civil War Letters and Diaries contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The product includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.
The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long."
- American Film Institute Catalog (1975 - )
Documents every American film from 1893 to 1970 (except 1959-1960). More info
- American Film Scripts Online
Full-text. Contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. More info
American Israelite (1854-2000)
The American Israelite is the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity.
American Hebrew and Hebrew Messenger (1857-1922)
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
- American Founding Era (beta, part of Rotunda)
Full text. 'Rotunda's American Founding Era Collection is your gateway into one of the great conversations in history. These newly prepared digital editions of the papers of many of the major figures of the early republic are presented in a fully searchable and interoperable online environment.' (from database homepage) More info
- American Men and Women of Science
Ebook, full-text. A biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. More info
- American National Biography (1 concurrent user
Ebook, full-text. 'The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.' (from About the ANB) More info
- American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
Full-text. 'This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.' More info
- AmericasBarometer Surveys (LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion Project) (2004 - )
Full text reports and data sets. Surveys democratic public opinion and behavior in the Americas. Individual registration required for data set access. More info
AMICA Library via LUNA Commons
The AMICA Library contains over 108,000 works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. More info
L'Année Philologique Online (1924 - 1 calendar year ago) (10 concurrent users allowed)
Online version of L'Année Philologique, the annual index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome (500 BCE to 800 CE). More info
- Annual Reviews - Social Sciences (1950 - )
Full text. Provides review articles in social sciences journals. To search only social sciences journals, enter search terms, highlight 'Social Sciences' under 'Publication,' and click 'AR Search.'
Index Online (1984 - )
Journal index. NOTE: While you may still search this database directly, it is now searchable as part of
Anthropology Plus, below. Citations to journal articles in the Museum of Mankind Library (Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland). More info
- Anthropology Plus
Journal index. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK. Citations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in English and other European languages, 19th century to present. More info
Full text. Brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications; an electronic archive of all AAA journals; holdings information; seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications. Searchable.
- AP Images
Full-text. Images. Provides access to more than 4.6 million photographs with a full descriptive caption giving the details of the event. Photographs are accessible by searching on a who, what, where, when basis using natural language queries. Please read and abide by the license terms linked from the website. More info
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text (1983 - ) (12 concurrent users allowed)
Journal Index, some full text articles. Includes the full text of more than 98 periodicals beginning in January 1997. More than 350 periodicals covering engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology. Updated monthly. More info
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: see ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, below.
- Archaeology Data Service (ADS)
The Archaeology Data Service is an archaeological data repository that supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology. The ADS promotes good practice in the use of digital data in archaeology, it provides technical advice to the research community, and supports the deployment of digital technologies. You must accept the terms to search the ADS. (Description from the resource)
Archäologische Bibliographie (via Projekt Dyabola)
Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology. More info
- Architecture Week
ArchitectureWeek™ is a leading magazine of design and building online, providing news and features weekly on architecture and construction, digital media, architectural products, and building culture to hundreds of thousands of monthly visitors and 70,000 newsletter subscribers. We aim to set the standard for accessible, frank, accurate, probing, integrated, and inclusive coverage of the built environment.
ArchitectureWeek provides timely information and images with an independent perspective, for architects, builders, designers, planners, and other AEC industry professionals, for home makers, students, and teachers of design, and for everyone who appreciates good buildings and places, great design, quality craftsmanship, and the thoughts that make them real.
We cover new buildings as they open worldwide, and a broad spectrum of design, technical, and cultural issues. ArchitectureWeek showcases articles from well known journalists and experts as well as new voices in every aspect of architectural design, practice, building technology, and digital media.
- Archive Finder
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
- ArchiveGrid or via WorldCat.org
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. ArchiveGrid is an online service that provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. (from http://www.oclc.org/archivegrid/)
Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (3 users)
The Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature Online is a full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 A.D. It contains more than 450 Latin works spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.
- Archives Unbound
Searches both collections below, plus indexing but not the full-text of other Archives Unbound collections not owned by Washington University Libraries.
- Archives Unbound: America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
Full-text. 'The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) started in 1967 with six Vietnam veterans marching for peace in New York City. The purpose of the organization was to give voice to the returning servicemen who opposed the on-going war in Southeast Asia. From six soldiers in 1967, the ranks of the membership eventually grew to over 30,000. This publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.' (from database homepage)
- Archives Unbound: Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945
Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
- Archives Unbound: German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster
Das Kloster is a collection of magical and occult texts, chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance compiled by Stuttgart antiquarian Johann Scheible, between 1845 and 1849. In addition to the Das Kloster volumes, this collection provides additional volumes of unique perspectives on Central European culture and tradition. Included are texts essential for the study of German folk traditions, the Reformation, wit and humor and 19th-century literature.
- Archives Unbound: Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
Full-text. 'As outspoken lesbian organizers for civil rights, civil liberties, and human dignity whose personal relationship fueled decades of political activism, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin created and helped shape the modern gay and feminist movements. They are stellar examples of engaged citizens: women of extraordinary courage, persistence, intelligence, humor, and decency, who refused to be silenced by fear. Not only were they founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB), but they also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement.' (from database homepage)
- ARD - Anthropology Review Database
Cites reviews in print and online publications for written literature, films/videos, audio recordings, multimedia/software, and web resources. "Intended to improve the level of access of anthropologists to anthropological literature by making them more aw
are of what is being published and helping them evaluate its relevance to their own interests."
The Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAER) tracks the exchange rate and trade regimes of all members of the International Monetary Fund (currently 187 countries and three territories). The IMF has published the AREAER annually since 1950, in accordance with the provisions of Article XIV, Section 3, of the IMF's Articles of Agreement. AREAER Online provides direct access to the data used to create the yearly reports covering the period from 1999 through 2010. The data can be searched across years, countries, and specific categories.
Aristoteles Latinus Database (3 users)
The ALD is a full-text database of the corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle. The Latin versions of these texts constituted the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.
- Art Full Text (1984 - ) (12 concurrent users allowed)
Journal Index, some full text articles. Indexes articles from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Coverage includes a total of 378 periodicals with the full text of 93 journals back to January 1997. Updated monthly. More info
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Journal Index. Indexes articles from major art and architecture periodicals. More info
- ARTbibliographies Modern (1974 - )
Journal Index. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art. More
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) contains over 2000 texts from the 12th through the 19th centuries. More info
- ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
or via WorldCat.org (1990 - )
Journal Index. Nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Updated daily. More info
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index, via Web of Science (1975 - )
Journal index. A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities and indexing more than 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Updated weekly. More info
Image collection, documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures. Embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Registration is required for full use of the system. Step-by-step instructions. More info
- Art: Search (formerly Designinform)
Journal index and full-text journals. Contains Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR), a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service; Design ProFILES (DP), a biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects; and ReVIEW, full-text nineteenth and early twentieth century art journals.
- Asian American Drama
Full-text. Contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More info
- ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Journal Index. Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information. More info
- Associations Unlimited
Contains information for more than 150,000 international and U.S. regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. More info
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Atlanta Constitution gives today’s researchers a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction. This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of “Rebels” from the legislature, the giving—then denying—of the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
- Atlanta Daily World, Historical (1931-2003)
The Atlanta Daily World had the first black White House correspondent and was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century.
ATLA Religion (1949 - )
Journal, essay, and book review index. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. More info
- Avery Index (1934 - )
Journal index. Indexes articles from over 1000 architecture periodicals. More info