Databases
Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.
Databases Arranged Alphabetically
A |
B |
C |
D |
E |
F |
G |
H |
I |
J |
K |
L |
M |
N |
O |
P |
Q |
R |
S |
T |
U |
V |
W |
X |
Y |
Z
Databases Arranged by Subject
Please connect to MultiSearch and then choose a subject from the drop-down list to search groups of databases at one time, or check out the Databases tabs or areas of the Research Guides.
General/Cross-Disciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Full-text. Journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. More info - Access World News is no longer available, due to budget cuts.
- ArticleFirst
(1990 - )
Journal index. Nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. More info - Books in Print (patron interface); Books in Print is now Global Books in Print
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books and other materials from all English-speaking countries; updated quarterly. You might also want to try Amazon.com. More info - Britannica Online
Full-text. Encyclopedia. More info - CQ Researcher (1991 - ) (5 concurrent users allowed)
Full-text. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week; topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology. More info - Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861 - )
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly. You might also want to look at Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis. More info -
Ethnic NewsWatch (1990 - )
Full-text. Journal index. A collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. More info - Facts on File World News Digest is no longer available, due to budget cuts.
- IngentaConnect
Includes more than 29,000 publications that you can search or browse the tables of contents. You can sign up for email alerts (formerly called Reveal). More info - LexisNexis Academic
Full-text. Journal index. A subset of the LexisNexis service, containing full-text news, business, legal, and reference information. More info - Newspaper Abstracts (1989 - )
Coverage of over 25 national and regional newspapers, including the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Updated weekly. More info - Oxford English Dictionary
Full-text. Second edition, updated quarterly. Click on 'sign in' to access the dictionary. More info - Web of Science (1980 - )
Journal index. A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the arts & humanities, sciences, and social sciences. More info - WorldCat (OCLC)
Bibliographic information for books, journal titles, videos, and other materials cataloged by thousands of U.S. and foreign libraries. More info

